Guild Trauma

Keredrea over at Tree of Life had a post about Guild Drama. Though it was a good story, I think back at all the incidents of guild drama over the years and think, man that guild is lucky.  I had guilds implode, get ripped apart, destroyed over drama, so much so it’s more like Guild Trauma

I’m going to open the books, and give you two examples of Guild Trauma from the Lore of River.

1. – The Guild that Rises Like a Phoenix –  Back in the days of yore my first MMO was Dark Ages of Camelot. I was then a part of one the best guilds on the Iseult server, Albion side called the Knights of The Red Dragon. From some fluke someone who shouldn’t have officer control got it, and were making life hell for us. We asked that person to leave, they would not.  Most of the members of the KOTRD met, and it was my first guild meeting in game, it was pretty neat. We all voted on if we wanted to leave KOTRD, which meant we had to start from scratch, which meant reset of our guild realm points, etc..etc.. The decision was made however to start anew. We called ourselves Phoenix Ascension. That’s what we did. We rose back through the ranks, and outdid our old guild.

2. Thoroughly Oppressed – Actually I was the cause more or less for a pretty good guild to bust up. In WoW, Phoenix Ascension languished, so we decided to join forces with a guild called Oppress. We were under their banner. I felt like the leadership wasn’t running the guild to my liking. So I quietly left, someone else took up my banner, and thought that the leadership was treating me unfairly, and decided that was the reason I quit, his name was Torkz, Torkz started an outright war within the guild over the reasons because I left, and got the PA folks on his side, and separated from Oppress. Thus ending the Oppress guild.   We went on to form a new guild named Blight, and I think they are still going strong on the Garona server from last I checked.

No matter what if you have a collection of people, you are going to have some drama…hopefully everyone is mature enough to handle it and move on…..

Good Luck with That.

Leave a Reply

