Masterdebation with Rivs, and Bee

Topic: Do Female Players in WoW, have it easier than Male Players?
 
 
Rivs says….
 
I think yes, they have it easier generally. I remember not to long ago I played a girl toon, and tried to play it as a girl…well the stereotypical girl. A lot of giggles, hugs, and dancing naked. I got it things, and gold handed to me. Even the opposite faction would sometimes come up to me and just dance, and flirt with me. I’m sure every girl has a story to tell of that ONE skeevy dude, or jackass that thinks because you have a vagina you’re a little slower on hitting the keyboard, or the young Casanova who goes a little too far, and may or may not even talked to someone with boobs, or maybe he has a wonderful set of man boobs himself and really hasn’t seen a vagina since he came out of one.
 
Just in my normal day-to-day observations, most of the guilds I’ve been  with always had a few female members, and they were fiercely protected, like we were their big brothers. Hell there was a huge fight one time when one guild member said something to a female guild member, but a lot of people protected the female guild member like she needed to be guarded. I didn’t take either side in the matter cause at the time I thought it was all silly.
 
The problem is sometimes we as men, don’t even realize were doing something. We’ve been conditioned to be providers, and defenders of the fairer sex. So when we know it’s a girl we go into the “Male” Mode. There’s been a backlash to this though, most other guys assume that every player is a guy, unless we hear you over vent, or you send us naked photos (my email is cc0926(at)gmail(dot)com.) Oh and by the way all girls sound hot over vent. So maybe girls might get a little oversensitive cause, we are treating you like one of the guys, but that’s another topic.
 
Bottomline I think Girls do have it easier for the most part, because they will most likely get everything they want in the game, even if the suck they will get carried along by their husband, boyfriend, mindless sex slave, and they don’t have to work as hard as us regular Dudes. Easy, you know Bee sort of like you on a Saturday night after a drink or two……

Bee says….

Not too long ago you played a girl toon, like a girl, Riv?  I knew you were into trannies, but this is taking things to a whole new level.  How about we get information on how it is to be a woman in WoW from an actual woman?  This way we won’t have any penis-tucking injuries.

Being an authentic woman, I got my boobs and vagina together and we conferenced about what we feel is easier/harder in WoW because I’m female.  I should preface by saying that I don’t act like the “typical girl” when I play WoW.  I don’t /giggle or /flirt all the time, I don’t dance naked atop the Org bank.  I try to stay pretty low-key.  After checking my statistics I see that I have “hugged” 26 times on my main.  I would venture to say 24 of those hugs were Ally characters that I killed that had yet to rez.

Ok, three things I think are easier:

1.) Easier to get gold. I had been doing BG’s with a warrior a couple of times a month for a while.  If he was on, and I was on at the same time we would group up and do some killing.  He always referred to me as “dude” or “man” or “bro.”  I never chose to correct him, cause really, “Um ‘scuse me ima grrl kthxbai” just never seemed appropriate.  One Saturday him and some guildmates were doing a raid on Stormwind.  He asked me along, and I agreed.  Then came the Vent instructions.  I hesitated at first, but in the end – in the interest of the raid – I obliged.  The second I said something in vent, things changed.  I went from his “Bro” to getting whispers asking for my phone number.  He just kept saying he wanted to text me.  He even offered to buy my cold-weather flying if I passed along my phone number.  5000g for a phone number?   Although a juicy offer, I default to the fact that I’m not a whore.

2.) Performances in BG’s and Raids not as scrutinized. I don’t think women are expected to perform as well as men, and so our performance in dps, heals, etc is not as harshly judged.  This could be great for someone just wanting to get carried, but I think it hurts those females that really want to get better and could use constructive criticism.  This, of course, does not apply to me as I am the leetest Disc priest to grace Azeroth. I can already sense Riv’s jealousy of this point.  Think how nice it would be if women weren’t constantly scrutinizing your performance

3.) Easier to get invites into Raids. *Lonely gamer-boy thinks to himself* If I invite her then maybe she’ll send me pics/cyber with me! I did a GDKP ICC 25man last week where it was required to have a 5k gear score and 3000g.  Every person was supposed to show gold to the raid leader before they would be considered.  I got in, without anyone viewing my gold. Before Marrowgar someone asked why I hadn’t said anything yet.  When I said “hello” in vent it was followed by man-giggles.  

And three things that I think are harder:

1.) An initial respect for my gaming skill. I believe female gamers are seen as weaker than male gamers.  And (don’t hate me ladies) I think there is some truth behind that.  I’m not saying that men are programmed to be better at games than women. I just think that society is more accepting of a male gamer than a female gamer. The more socially acceptable something is, the easier the path to success and skill becomes. Also, I think a majority of women that play WoW, began playing it because their husband/boyfriend plays.  When I go bowling with a boyfriend, I rarely win – and no, it’s not because I’m a bad bowler.  Every guy needs a good ego stroking from time to time.  Also, since us women are the more caring of the sexes, we will participate in activties that we normally could give two shits about, just to make you happy.  News flash: No women like UFC.  You say she tells you she likes it? She’s lying.  But look at the bright side, she must care about you an awful lot to sit through bloody man-on-man groping.

2.) Playing WoW being a socially acceptable thing among your friends. I would explain further, but I think that Mary over at npccomic.com sums it up perfectly here.  – Yeah, all of my male friends know I play WoW.  They also know what WoW is.  I would say 2 of my female friends know I game and neither one of them has ever heard of WoW.

3.) The penises of male WoW players. What can I say? I’ve been told I have a very sexy vent voice.

🙂

To sum things up:  I think for actual play in the game – women do have it easier.  But when it comes to the balance of gaming/real life and being respected as a “real” player – it’s much more difficult to be a girl. Also, we’ve learned that Riv not only likes trannies, he aspires to be one.

19 Responses to “Masterdebation with Rivs, and Bee”

  1. All true. Protector-male mode (I recall a certain someone going to war for my honor!), but at the same time, having to fight to be “taken seriously” as a player.

  2. I don’t think people treat me differently just because I’m a girl, but I guess I could be wrong.

    • I didn’t either until recently. I had some guy tell me the only reason I was in on an ICC run is because I was an “e-slut” and “all over the guys in my guild dicks.”

      This is after he was making shrieking noises in vent and I not-so-politely told him to stfu.

  3. I’m not going to lie.. It is fantastically easy for me to get on vent and say “any of you boys wanna tank a random for me” and have a slew of offers. However, I’m lucky to be in a fairly balanced guild that has lots of girls in it. Not all of the girls raid, thus the terribad vent episode I recorded in a blog entry on my site, but there are lots of us girls. Sure.. some of the guys cross the line.. repeatedly.. and most days I just volley some nasty “i’m really just one of the boys, and you can’t touch this” type comment back at them. It’s true though.. if a pug ever gets out of line, the guys snap to my defense REALLY fast.

    However, one of the best things I’ve encountered is.. after a run or 2 with me, I have these guys asking for my advice on gemming or rotation or whatever… Maybe it’s because they expect me to be bad and are shocked when I’m.. not.. It’s really amazing.. I don’t have to flash my own epeen. I know these people are running recount or looking at the WoL numbers. Being a ranked healer (with my disc priest) or having some of the top dps in our 25 mans (31k dps on trash pulls.. ohhh yeah /giggle) earns respect pretty quick. I hear “Hot damn Kay, you are SMOKING the charts” and there is a little piece inside of me that just.. well.. is proud. So, I go ahead and admit I keyboard turn and click my spells, and I blow kisses whenever I feel like it… and the boys still respect me in the morning.

  4. “stereotypical girl. A lot of giggles, hugs, and dancing naked”

    WTF Rivs. I don’t giggle, I only occasionally hug, and I have NEVER danced naked anywhere in any MMO.

    And yet I’m a pretty stereotypical WOMAN, thank you very much.

    I repeat. What the FUCK?

    Seriously fucking irked by the casual fucking sexism here.

    • I truely believe that all of the so-called “girls” that /kiss and dance naked are really dudes. Next time I see one, I’m gonna ask.

    • theerivs Says:

      The Kitchen is that way —>>

      • Excellent. Got a cast-iron pan I can hit you with? Oh wait no, you’re a guy. All you do is drink beer all day, scratch your privates, and hit on people you THINK might be women in MMOs based on how they behave. Then you have a shit-fit when you discover your “girlfriend” is another ball-scratching guy who just happens to know a /dance naked emote.

        Oh the humanity.

      • theerivs Says:

        No you can hit me, just not in the nuts. I love scratching them too much.

      • You and Al Bundy! 😀

  5. I’ve never been treated differently because I’m a girl, and I wouldn’t have it any other way…I’m usually better than the men and I let the numbers do the talking for me (I was a BEAR specced feral who could top dps charts in cat form) and I’m often the one leading the groups because I’m a tank (a role I’ve realized isn’t very popular among women…sigh, they don’t know what they’re missing!) I also played in a guild where the age ranged from late 20s to 40s; the people were all mature and in many cases married. As a result, my share of pickup lines and annoying whispers asking for my phone number in WoW have only mostly come from people outside the guild I don’t know very well.

    I do wish more of my female friends in real life play MMOs though. It sucks that I can get excited with them over a new pair of shoes or how hot McDreamy was in the latest episode of Grey’s Anatomy because I’m into a lot of girly things…but I get excited over geeky things like games too, and when that happens none of them can understand.

    • I can understand that. I’ve slowly started building up my female friends from woman I play WoW with. The people that I have been friends with for years don’t quite understand what I am talking about. Makes it kind of suck to have two separate groups of friends.

  6. I get a lot of the protection stuff from my male guildies. It is sweet, but I don’t think I deserve it. I don’t see them doing that with the other players unless they are female. Silly men.

    I also get the whole “you are doing just fine” crap when I try to judge my performance. If I was a guy, they would tell me exactly what was up.

    I have groupies too.

    But then I have groupies in RL as well.

    Guess I am just cool like that 😀

    Or it is the boobs.

    I think it is the boobs.

  7. […] I really enjoyed our debating series… about PvE/PvP, and our gender discussions.. […]

Leave a Reply

