A Tribute To Mythic

iwarhammer-age-of-reckoningi-the-hordes-of-chaos-20061121045650831It was just announced that Mythic is being closed by EA. The writing was on the wall, and I knew it was coming, but it’s still bittersweet. Mythic is among giving me the greatest moments of gaming history, and the biggest heartbreaks.

Mythic made the first MMO I ever played, and it was the most brilliant thing I ever played. Dark Ages of Camelot, where I played a cleric named Riverian. I forged friendships in this game that would transcend the game, and after 12 years I’m still sharing these peoples lives, and they mine. I mean moments that I will always remember like killing Salisbury giants, or the sound trees use to make while farming them. Standing at the wall at emain to hold off attackers, or waking up at 2am for a relic raid. I can go on and on.

Then came Warhammer Online, this was suppose to be another great triumph but sadly it just well didn’t live up to all that I hoped it to be. I still loved Mythic they embraced blog writers like myself, and included me in a special promotion that to this day I’m very proud they chose me. When I closed my Warhammer blog, I kind of knew that things weren’t going well for them.

I wonder if Mark Jacobs still checks in here once in a while. I’m real curious as to his thoughts on the matter. My thoughts are with the employees, with out them all the great memories wouldn’t be there. I wish them the best and hope they find new homes.

Thank you Mythic, and salute.

One Response to “A Tribute To Mythic”

  1. I really liked the idea of Warhammer, it could have been something awesome, but there was just something that did not work, or something that was missing. Still miss my gobbo tho :/

    Sad to see things like this happen, especially when you think about all those employees.

Leave a comment