What makes a friend?

friendI told someone the other day I had to log on the other night see if my friends need me. In their ignorance they said, those aren’t your real friends that play that game.

It made me think awhile. I thought about this. Just because I have never seen their physical body does this preclude them being my friend? What makes a friend? 

1. I talk to my friends – In Reality it may be over the phone, or perhaps a social networking site. Virtually it may be over vent, chat, or through a guild forum

2. Friends are a part of my life, and I am in theirs– Alot of my guildies or virtual friends were there when I lost someone close, they were there when I got the new job, or broke up with that girl I really liked. They have shared the ups and downs of my life. Some of my so called Real friends weren’t even there for me at times of my life. Like when I log on and had a bad day, I go ” I feel bad, lets kill something”, My virtual friends are there for me. Though thank god my real ones didn’t agree with me, I might be writing this from jail. I also share my virtual friends life as well, offering my time, and knowledge to help.

3. I spend time with my friends.– I spend more time with my virtual friends through raiding, sometimes more than any real friend.

4. I trust my friends –I trust my virtual friends will know what their doing, won’t waste my time, have some fun, not try to rip me off, etc. etc. The same way I trust my real friends.

5. I am lessened when my friends are no longer in my life – Saying goodbye to friends is a hard thing, but it happens. Not of any drama or sort. We just grow apart. Their life changes and you can no longer have the camaraderie thats there. I miss them sometimes. When a long time virtual friend decided to go play another game that I didn’t want to play, I was a little hurt. It was like when a friend moved to Germany. Sure I’ll still talk to that friend, but no more going out for a beer, or just hanging out shooting the shit.

The Internet is a double edged sword, Sure there’s alot of  bad,  but there’s so much good. One of the coolest thing that’s it has allowed me to be a part of so many peoples lives over the years. I am so glad I live in a day and age that we can make friends over the internet, just entities connecting over electric impulses. No color, no age, no gender, no masks if we so choose.

For this discussion, I used virtual friend for friends I just know over the internet, and used real friends for those that I know in the physical realm, but in my mind’s eye. They are all my friends.

11 Responses to “What makes a friend?”

  1. Here, here.

    Some people take different approaches to who they befriend, whether it be in real life or virtually. Some people value friendship more than others regardless of how that relationship formed.

    I remember when I was younger, it was totally acceptable to have a penpal. In fact, in school, they had this project/assignment once where everyone in class got one.

    Now, none of us ever met our penpals (at least during that time – we were states away – their classroom paired up with ours). But no one thought it was “weird” or “those aren’t friends.” They were still friends as you got to know each other through letters. The curse of snail mail made the development of those friendships take longer.

    So why do people think online friends are not friends or it’s weird to call them friends? Usually it seems like those people haven’t experienced it so they “just don’t get it.”

    I think part of what people don’t think about is that virtual friends can/could become “real” friends – I know I’ve met up with some.

    It’s sad that people would limit themselves with a thought like that. But then again, once upon a time marrying for love and not by arrangement seemed crazy too.

  2. OK aliens, we know what you did. Give us Rivs back!

    😉

  3. I consider you a friend. We met via blogs. We’re now guildies. We have a similar pasttime we enjoy.

    Does that mean if we met in real life that we would have other things in common? Maybe not. It might be one of those awkward moments where you sit in silence attempting small talk in an effort to find common ground. But does that then mean we’re not friends?

    I have “friends” at work, that I know I have absolutely nothing else in common with and would never spend time with outside of work. But society accepts those types of “friends”.

    I find it ironic that society hasn’t yet accepted internet friends using the argument that you don’t really know the other person because they could be lying about who they are. If I could count on my fingers the number of real life “friends” I’ve had that have lied about who they really are, I’d have dozens of arms.

  4. I too have had more response from “online strangers” to events like birthdays and bereavements than from physical friends.

    Actually many of my physical friends have morphed into virtual friends anyway over the years as we settle and separate

  5. Rivs … is that you in there? What have they done to you!?!

    Seriously – fascinating post. I’m really bad at recognising the impact of virtual-friends on my life – but they do have one, an important one. I’m getting better at it but the world, as a general rule, does not ascribe value to these connections – and you’re right, it should. I mean, when you get down to it, I spent more time with some people in virtual spaces than I do with my some of my purportedly ‘real’ friends in ‘real’ ones.

  6. […] of High Latency Life ponders “What Makes a Friend?” after someone tells him that online friends aren’t, well, […]

  7. […] genuinely touching posts about the importance of people in the game, over at The Barrens Chat and High Latency Life. Both very lovely, very necessary posts (although aliens have clearly abducted our cynical […]

  8. /glomps Rivs
    /loves the Rivs

Leave a comment