Confession of a Reformed Botter

hot girl 6As I go into the confessional, I say, “forgive me father I have sinned it’s been..well a long time since my last confession. I lusted, stole, and one more thing I can’t mention.

The priest replies, “All sins are forgiven her my son”

I gulp, and say, “I use to bot in Warcraft”

The priest goes, “Get out, your excommunicated you piece of shit”

 

Yes I use to be a botter. I started back in the tail end of Burning Crusade, I was bored and a ton of my friends, who were also my coworkers, and guildies were doing it. I use to sit there at work while they check on their toons working away unattended and I admit I was amazed. The program they all used was Glider. At first I dabbled, cause I was scared I would lose my account. Then I got a second account to do all my gliding with. I would set it up and it would go to work at the beginning of the day, I would get home and be loaded down with stuff, and gold, or honor depending on what I wanted to do.

Was it cheating sure was, but the fact alot of my friends were doing it made it seem a little bit ok. I was enthralled at the toon sitting there pathing, and doing it’s thing Glider was a pretty nifty program. The community they had was pretty good bunch of guys too.

Well fallout came when Blizzard put the clamps on Glider, and to my surprise my main account took the hit and was banned, while my second account still was intact and which I still use today, and two of my toons were glided to 70 lol

I do miss my first account with my first toon I ever played with, and the mage I raided MC, and BWL with and that was the price I paid for botting. I never dabbled again because I left that job, and my coworkers and I seldom played since. I don’t even buy gold cause I don’t see the point, if your smart you can make all you need and more.

It was an interesting experience, and I don’t regret it but when I see a bot (and I can tell which toons are) I just shake my head, and go they’ll get you to one day.

4 Responses to “Confession of a Reformed Botter”

  1. I used to see those all the time in EQ2. They are annoying especially when they keep clearing things you need for the quest you’re on. The furthest I went was dual-boxing, and that was kind of fun, but kind of a pain in the ass as well.

  2. I bought a fully leveled character once. It was like, $200 and I was working 70+ hour weeks. I didnt have the time, and I had extra money. This was in WoW, and before levelling became super, ultra, extra EZ mode with all the levelling perks.

    Was a good investment!

  3. Since you have that lovely reform school dropout up there, I forgive you.

Leave a Reply

