I’m an IP Whore

icecream-girlI am an IP or intellectual property whore. Let me explain. I’ve was playing some Wildstar and though it had some problems I just wasn’t being grabbed. I just wasn’t loving it.  I was trying to figure it out. Am I that jaded/cynical? Has WoW tainted me beyond all reason?

No I don’t think so, I loved other games Warhammer Online for sure. Then what is my problem…IP. I have to love the IP.

Let’s look at some of the games I did champion  Warhammer Online, then I jumped on the Star Trek Online bandwagon, then the Star Wars bandwagon. I wasn’t all about Guild Wars 2, but I got on board.  All these games have some established IP’s, and long running ones at that.

So ESO has a long established IP, I should love ESO right?  I don’t, because ESO’s IP I never got into, all the way back in the Daggerfall days I just never played, then as the games grew I still didn’t like it all that much, not to mention some other problems I had with the games.

So am I going to pre-order Wildstar, I don’t know yet but I’ll keep playing maybe something from the IP will click with me, but I am warming up to the Dominion as their quite the right bastards.

 

 

7 Responses to “I’m an IP Whore”

  1. I want to play dominion.

    Let me know if you have a server or ruleset picked. I’ll be playing pretty casual hours but wouldn’t mind seeing if there is a preferred blogger server for fun.

    I may make a post about it!

  2. I can’t even get into the content because I can’t stop looking at the girl. Thanks, Riv. 😛
    I hate that you’re going to be in Wildstar and I’m not, but it just is so kiddish and eye bleeding to me. I’m looking forward to reading your thoughts about it, though.

  3. scarybooster Says:

    You should join us in AofA until we all leave, but if you stay to raid I will follow you to raid. Man the raiding looks amazing

  4. […] monkey Christopher Cavelle in his blog writes about the perils of beign an I.P. whore and explores the interesting dynamic that exists between gamers who are interested most in playing […]

Leave a Reply

