NBI- Lesson Learned

So you want to st914p_0c_1bart a blog? You love a game, and you want to write about it all the time, do you? That’s now, what about a year from now, two years from now, or 5 years from now.

When I first started out blogging and created my first blog Way of the Chosen, which was a Warhammer Online blog.  I reached out to an old time blogger, Tobold. 

This is what he said to me.

I hope you’re considering that blog more like an exercise. The problem
with highly specialized blogs like that is that you won’t be able to
keep it up for 5 years, because it’s unlikely you’re still playing a
Chosen in 5 years. You’re probably even playing a completely different
game. You can make a new blog for every new class and game you play,
but then you are losing all your Google page rank and regular readers
every time you switch.

So I kept on going as is, and years later he proved right when the game started to die, I had to create a new blog, and almost start from scratch. I learned my lesson the hard way, and heed Tobold’s advice, and don’t specialize to much if you are in this for the long haul.

 

4 Responses to “NBI- Lesson Learned”

  1. Unless you’re one of the bazillion WoW bloggers.

    • theerivs Says:

      I seen WoW bloggers get tired of WoW, Jong use to be a great blogger, but disappeared because he got sick of wow

  2. Good advice! Backing yourself into a corner isn’t usually a clever thing to do. 😛

  3. […] is another Newbie Blogger Initiative ongoing. I wasn’t going to participate, but ended up being quoted as old fart wise old man of MMORPG blogging. Occasion to say a word about blogging in 2014: The […]

Leave a Reply

