Am I your Type?

photoMy buddy Scarybooster posted a great post about blogging, and it made me think about my own styles, and the styles of the other bloggers around me. Blogging is quickly becoming a fading art I think in it’s place it’s becoming a 140 character or less blurb kind of world which couldn’t me more evident than with the death of Google Reader. Though generally I feel blogs fall for the most part into several categories.

Types of Blogs

1. Instructional – These blogs tell you valued information about a game, or games in terms of how to do something within said game.

2. Critical – These blogs off opinions as to certain things about games, or issues concerning games.

3. Storytelling – These blogs tell tales of their adventures, or use the game world to build their own tales.

4. Mixed Bag of Nuts – Sort of a hodge podge of the previous three.

5. Me – Yes I kind of set myself apart. I’ll tell you why.

What type of blogger am I? When I first started blogging I viewed myself as more of the previous types of bloggers at one time or another. Then as I progressed in this hobby, I broke my own mold. I started writing shorter posts, and added pictures to these posts way before Google+ or Twitter became popular. I felt I was more of an Entertainer, and perhaps I saw the writing on the wall. That people who check me out come for a quick laugh, or maybe a peek at what girl I posted that day. In this disjointed 140 character world, I think I feel right at home. My writing will probably never win any awards, but if I can spark someones emotion whether its laughing, crying, or even anger. Then I feel I’ve done my job. For that’s what I believe there in lies the power of the word, it leads you places….and I want to lead you to dirty…dirty places.

So am I your type?

7 Responses to “Am I your Type?”

  1. scarybooster Says:

    I prefer people over blog types. If I can connect with the person through their writing no matter what it is about, I’ll keep reading. If it’s just about getting hits with hot topics, I’ll pass and never come back

  2. No one blogs for the sheer love of writing. If that were the case, they’d keep a private journal under their mattress.

    All bloggers DO want to connect with people and to do that they need people to want to visit their site.

    What’s the important part of why you write? That’s the question. If the writing IS the most important part to you, than that’s OK. If being well known and regarded for better or worse is your aim, than that’s OK too.

    But in either case, HOW you write is going to determine your results. Also, WHAT you write, and who you’re pitching it to. To do that, you need to be aware of who’s visiting, who’s returning, and who is passing your links to other people.

  3. There is a distinct lack of trannys on this blog lately. I wonder how many of your random visitors stop by, check out the hot girl on the post, and never find out it had a penis.

    One of my favorites sir.

Leave a Reply

