Are you wuxia?

Jaina-SoloIn this week’s adventure column I write on my initial impressions of “Age of Wushu.”  I am a bit of an ADD gamer and playing lots of different things keeps me entertained, I’m too casual to find something that I devote my life to. So I keep wandering, to find my MMO home.

So you start the game, as any other mmo, at the character creation screen. Lots of sliders to play with but ultimately I stuck with the default-ish female avatar. I was sad I couldn’t change eye color 😦 Seeing as how it takes place in semi realistic ancient china… Yeah everyone has brown eyes. You pick from a number of backstory options such as kidnapped sister, and then you pick your ‘strength.’ To be honest, I have no idea what any of it means so I just picked some things that sounded the most interesting. My characters are almost always orphans or have some other trait that leaves them needing to seek heroic inspiration. Maybe I like Batman too much, but I digress.

You progress through several [boring] missions to get the skills you need and pick your ‘school’, which determines your role in groups. Some of the schools are gender or profession restricted. Still not sure where I get professions from, as I haven’t made it that far yet. I picked what was basically the female equivalent of monk, the healing role. At least I think so.

I haven’t had a ton of time to play but I am excited to look into a sandbox game. Especially a kung fu sandbox! I get burned on the same fantasy mmo over and over again. Give me something else! Well Snail games has delivered.

There are some issues that bother me right off the bat. I play inverted mouse, like, everywhere. So the fact that there is NO option to change… That is pathetic. As a software engineer myself, the fact that they didn’t code that in from the very start is just lazy. The graphics at least redeem the lack of control options. They are very pretty and there is an option to toggle off the characters in the world. Their names still appear but it can help with some congestion, especially in the starting areas where people are littered all over.

I haven’t been able to explore much of the combat system as I ended up wandering around the world just looking and exploring.

So far, the game is interesting but there is so much to learn, the skill progression is confusing and I am not quite sure what is going on most of the time. It feels like Eve Online in that [if VIP] you can ‘cultivate’ your skills in offline time, otherwise you need to be logged into progress the skills you have earned. The in game explanation of that mechanic works well, it takes time to learn things, etc… So while annoying, I can understand. I haven’t seen the limitation of VIP yet. If you hit them before I do, let me know in the comments below.


Anyway, enjoy the wire flying, awesome Kung Fu action of Age of Wushu, it’s free 2 play. So why not explore what it’s all about? Leave all your comments and feeback below. I’d love to hear what you guys have to say about the game, if you are more interested in a certain aspect of it. Free to play games allow me to live my life and hop in and out, guilt free.

– Liana

3 Responses to “Are you wuxia?”

  1. theerivs Says:

    I saw a commercial for this game, and being a huge fan of kung fu, and samurai movies. I’ll definately be checking it out myself some time this week.

Leave a Reply

