I am a Gamer, and I am Proud.

Rowan over at I Have Touched the Sky, started me thinking. How has gaming affected my life. It has touched on every aspect of it, some bad, some good. Let’s go on a little journey

Let me say this I am not just a video game lover, I love games in general. I love board games, card games, even rock, paper, scissors, lizard, spock. I thrive on competition.  I remember when I was in 4th/5th grade playing Atari 2600 Combat. A game about tanks, and me and my older brother just going at it.  The times I did beat my brother it was like I was king of the world, but more importantly it was serious quality time me and my brother spent together trying to figure out how the heck you solved a puzzle in Indiana Jones, or trying to find some lost city in Pitfall that never existed, but we heard rumors of.

As I growed older those times didn’t stop, I got a Commodore 64 in middle school, and during that and high school every free moment I could spare I was delving in dungeons in Bards Tale, or trying to save the princess Rosalind in Defenders of the Crown. My friends had C64’s too, and we would play games together. I also got involved in BBS’s, and MUDs…until I went nuts one month and the phone bill was 300 dollars…that was put to a halt. Was I’m sheltered dork hiding in my room, no I was a 3-letter jock. I played Football, Wrestling, Track in high school. I had a very social life, parties, and going to teenage dance clubs.

As I entered adult life, gaming was always there whether it was playing Street Fighter 2 at the arcade, or playing Madden against my brother at home. I moved onward and upward to MMO’s in 2002, and never looked back.

Looking back on my life –

The Good –

-I made alot of friends with this hobby, some have been my friends for decades, not years.

– I think I’ve learned alot of skills, critical thinking, the power of hard work, and multitasking, and dungeon mapping…Hey you never know…but nonetheless skills that I would never learn watching TV.

– It sparked my love for computers, and that’s how I make my living now.

The Bad

-There are some sad moments when a friend disappears or no longer is around. There is a loss there.

– The fact saying you’re a gamer still  has a stigma to it. I still get snickers when I say I play World of Warcraft.

– The Hot Geek Girls all have boyfriends already.

The Ugly –

– When I was laid off for a time, I fell into depression and I used gaming as a crutch, and did it way to much to make me feel better. I guess it could of been worse, I could of drank…oh wait I did that too…i could of used drugs…no during that time I did that too…well at least I didn’t gamble…oh fuck I did.  Ok what I’m saying there was a time in my life I wasn’t using gaming as a hobby, and in moderation. I used it to cover up the pain of my life in that time…that isn’t good no matter what your poison is.

Final Point –

Whether you collect stamps, love fashion, or play video games what you do as a hobby or for fun doesn’t define you as a whole, it’s just a part of you, something that spices you up so to speak. You may be a video gamer, but I hope you are so much more, a mother, father, brother, sister, sports fan, movie nerd, teacher, firefighter, etc. The minute you let your passion, become an obsession then you’re going to have problems.

4 Responses to “I am a Gamer, and I am Proud.”

  1. Ahh the arcade… a convenient place to play games and buy your drugs as well. Sigh..what do kids now a days do?

  2. Honestly gaming has been very good to me. It got me into computers, which led to a decent career 🙂

  3. You had me at “rock, paper, scissors, lizard, spock” baby.

    But seriously, thank you for sharing this. I am putting together my own.

  4. Rock, paper, scissors, lizard, spock!

    Spock. Spock.

    Rock, paper, scissors, lizard, spock!

    Spock. Spock.

Leave a Reply

