Hey Guys, You’re all a Bunch of Rapists!

So something interesting popped up in my twitter feed, an article about some Nerd Girl project….I read the article…yeah slow work day, but this in caps whacked me in the face…”Idiot Nerd Girl is the throwaway byproduct of a culture that regularly responds to criticism from women with flurries of rape threats.”

I for one was a little insulted. I’m a gamer, and in the gaming culture….now I’m basically being called a rapist. WOW! I took great offense. Does the gaming culture have a lot of immaturity, sure does when it’s saturated by boys in their teens. Boys who do not know how to channel the angst, and feelings they have raging in them. Do we punish the whole gaming culture for it. Are we all just deviant rapists who don’t want women playing video games.

Extended Reading –

Well I lodged my complaint, but the author told me to read some more about the subject so I did. Here’s the articles she told me to read, and what my thoughts are about those articles.

How the Web became a Sexists Paradise –  Written by a woman. If you put my picture up on a forum, how many insults will be thrown my way…probably alot. Oh come on you should have seen the threats lodged at me by role players when I went to war with them. Kudos for using the word vitriol though.  The web has always been the wild west mentality, not some utopian idea these tree huggers want.

Wikipedia article about Anita Sarkeesian – Never use Wikipedia as a source is rule #1, but hey you put yourself out there, and you go on the attack, people are going to get offended. She is cute though.

Female bloggers – This isn’t about the gaming culture, so I don’t see the relevence…people are assholes, welcome to planet Earth.

On rape threats, and internet trolls. – Same broad who wrote the above article, wrote this. Great job beating a dead horse, honey.

Unprovoked Rage – Yeah teenage boys love to rape things. I say we cut their penises off.

Being a woman on the internet – Yet again not really doing with gaming culture.

Ok to sum up the only one site that really totally has to do with gaming, and who were these bad people, little boys who don’t know shit, from shinola…were they truly boys all of them I don’t know. Is it possible girls acting like asshats too, hell I had one girl gamer that likes telling guys they had their “shit pushed in”…isn’t that butt rape?

My Point –

The internet is not a utopian society, it’s more like a wild frontier. We all put ourselves out there, and say if you present yourself as a fat person, and people hate you on the internet, they will pick that out and make fun of you, so if you put yourself out there as a female, or feminist guess what their going to pick on.

Now as far as gaming culture, for every one 13-year-old jerk off out there who shouts “I’m going to rape you and your mother”, there are hundreds of gamers who just go about their business, and enjoy their games. Hey guess what there are some African-American rapists in prison, are all African-American people rapists? No they are not, there are a lot of good hard-working African-Americans.  I don’t use the word rape in my gaming or real life, please don’t call me a rapist, or one who participates in a rape culture.

 

5 Responses to “Hey Guys, You’re all a Bunch of Rapists!”

  1. why do you read “a culture that regularly responds to criticism from women with flurries of rape threats” and take it personally? The culture makes 13 year old boys say this without really thinking about it, that doesn’t mean everyone in that culture does it. I think you’re projecting a bit. Nobody called you a rapist but by suggesting that we should be silent about it or not care, you are participating in rape culture.

    And yes, the internet’s the wild frontier, and people use whatever they can to hurt you–gender, race, weight, whatever. That doesn’t mean that we can’t address it and talk about it and say publicly that we don’t think it’s okay.

  2. Typical example of the problem with vocal minority, although they usually are mentioned together with idiotic forum comments, and whining about nerfing. I agree, for every one of these there are hundreds who don’t talk like that.

  3. There is a lot of screeching from hyper-feminists over single incidents. Yet you never see them post/talk about social encounters where there were guys who treated them with respect.

    You’re right, you put yourself out on the web, someone who has an axe to grind will pick on something about you and cut into it. Guys get called tons of stuff and I’ve seen girl games act utterly obnoxious too. A 13 year old boy will focus on you being a girl but a vicious teenage girl is no cute kitten either and will spew just as much vitriol.

    In the blogs I follow, there are one or two bloggers constantly harping on about perceived anti-female bias in game and some of the “evidence” is so contrived it is actually tiring to read their posts.

Leave a Reply

