Flashback Fridays – Pool of Radiance

No other thing shaped my life more then the Commodore 64, it’s the sole reason I am in computers, and love video games so much. ALot of RPG’s came out on the C64, great titles like Bard’s Tale, Might and Magic, Wizardry, and Ultima to name a few. One of my all time favorites though was Pool of Radiance, which was released in 1988.

5 Things I loved about Pool of Radiance.

1. Combat – Combat  was different then most RPG’s I played, there was a strategic element there.  Insteasd of usual stagnant combat you got to move your party around.

2. AD&D –  it used the rules of AD&D, and I loved AD&D

3. Forgotten Realms  –  I use to love all those books based in the Forgotten Realms…In later games yes we would see Drizzt.

4. The Story – There is a dragon involved, and how can you not have a dragon in AD&D

5. Your Toons – You became invested in your toons, as they progressed, you became more powerful, the more powerful you became…the more awesome the game became.

Pool of Radiance, I believe was ahead of it’s time, and I enjoyed it immensely. I wish more games came out that were as enthralling as this game.

5 Responses to “Flashback Fridays – Pool of Radiance”

  1. Ahh, yes, back in the day when it was impossible to save mid-mission and the death of a character really mattered!

  2. What no mention of Zork for C64?

  3. What, no love for Zork on C64?

Leave a Reply

