I want a 40 man raid

I think that when 40 man raids were around this was thee golden era of WoW.  Why?

1. Bigger Guilds – To field such raids you needed alot of raiders.

2. Better Raid Leaders – The Raid Leaders back in these days were of epic proportion. They kept 40 personalities in check.

3. Better Stories – Just seemed like I had better stories from way back when. Like once in BWL we had a drunk healing pally pull some Drakonoids screaming…”Go Team Go!”..Leeroy Jenkins style, or when a mage got my loot by mistake, and waited to D/E it live in person a year later…that doesn’t seem to happen these days.  

4. Better Class Competition, and Cohesion – When you have 4-5 mages going at it, and competing with each other it was more fun. We had our own channel we would make fun of the Warlocks. These days I’m probably the only mage in a raid.

5. Better Skilled Players – Everything was harder to come by, thus harder to earn. This led to better players.

6. Better Community – Smaller guilds when you needed people you would have to work together with another guild, or guildless people that needed gear.

So these are just some of the reason I thought when there were 40-mans it was a better time in MMO’s, perhaps I’m just getting old.

5 Responses to “I want a 40 man raid”

  1. You may be getting old if . . .

    You start talking about how things were better in Vanilla WoW than now.

    That’s all I’ve got! lol! I agree with you, however. Back in those days, I was in a giant guild and the guild leader and his wife ran the guild/raids/5&10 mans, etc.

    It was a fun time! Everyone in the guild helped eachother out. If you needed something and a guildie had mats for it, he/she would craft if for you! The guild was all about leveling to end content AND were willing to help you get there anyway they can!

    I guess I’m old too!

  2. Hmm…I think that has little to do with 40man raids, and much to do with how the whole society has changed 🙂

  3. @realgdman4u: Shut up, we’re not old, we’re… seasoned.

    And I couldn’t agree more Chris. Vanilla WoW was the golden age. I was a raid leader myself and we conquered everything up to 7/16 Naxx.

    You also seem to have forgotten world bosses, like Kazzak, Azuregos, or the Green Dragons.

  4. This really does sound like a “back in my day we had to walk uphill in the snow both ways” type of post.

  5. I agree with every word and letter.

    Any MMO out there having +40 man raids?

    I stopped feeling epic after blizzard killed 40 man raids.

Leave a Reply

