Nerd Boner Achieved

So I installed Space Marine, and right out of the box I got awesomeness personified. You start off with a basic pistol, and combat knife, but you get better, and better weapons as you go along.

Relic did an awesome job with this title, they really caught what the Warhammer universe is all about. On the first mission you start off jump packing in, and a fellow Astartes tells you it’s against the Codex, which is so awesome and faithful to the Warhammer Universe it’s sick.

Right off the bat, the battlefield is pure Chaos, things going off all around you, and happening all around you.  It’s the little things I really get a kick out of too, the Orks talking to you, and NPC talking to themselves. Even your tabard thing blowing in the wind, or ou covered in blood. It’s this eye for detail that really puts this game up there. I also let out my inner sociopath in this game, as I perform an execute move, I hear myself laughing in maniacal glee. I think this game sent me over the edge of madness.

Ok I’m a total fanboi, but I do have a  minor complaint of this game is the Multiplayer, you start off pretty weak and have to work your way up to better armor, weapons, and such. Which kind of sucks, but gives me something to work towards…I guess.  Haven’t really experienced too much lag, a little slowdown when things get heavy, but that might be my video settings.

Overall even if your not a Warhammer fan, and just an Action game fan I think you’ll love this game. I doff my cap to the people at Relic, and THQ…great job.

On a scale of 1-Mila Kunis, Mila being the best, 1 worst this game is definately a Mila Kunis.

6 Responses to “Nerd Boner Achieved”

  1. Could you re-post this without the picture? I can’t actually focus on the text with a picture of Mila staring back at me…..

  2. What type of game is it though? Is it a shooter? I heard so little about it.

  3. I played extensively late into the evening. I can say so far, the single player is amazing. If you back away from being a Warhammer Fanboi, then the game play is still amazing. I would say it’s only one step below Batman: Arkham Asylum as for combat fun. Not quite as detailed with finishers or as complex, but it gives you that sense of accomplishment at times in the combos you preform. Or you could just play on easy and enjoy your button smashing fever.

    I can say with absolute confidence that this is definitely the best Warhammer Title game to date for realism of Space Marine combat and fun. Great graphics (incredible).

    The storyline isn’t short either. After 5 hours it seems that I am still not even close to the end. I did take a break and played some multiplayer for about 30 mins. Ummmmm … so far so good. I would say heavies need an aiming boost or damage boost. And Jet Packs need like a fuel level or far more recharge time.

    Basically suffer it crap gear for a bit. Play a Heavy just to see why you shouldn’t play it. Get yourself the Assualt Upgrage and you’re golden. And you win. Saw 2 people over the rank of 30 last night. So some folks are playing their hearts out.

    Amazing game. Hope the THQ and GW work out using this engine for more storyline games. Maybe workout some Last Stand type multiplayer for an Arena area.

  4. I downloaded the demo and played it today, it was a really cool game. I have to wait till payday to buy the game. I’ve been playing mmo’s so long I forgot how much I like these type of games.

Leave a Reply

