ThurGeekery

Went to see Rise of the Planet of the Apes the other day. First of all the Planet of the Apes original holds a special place in my heart with Charlton Heston at it’s best.  The remake was pretty bad with Marky Mark, not horribad, but just not good.

What I liked about this movie.

Plot – Was actually good, it kept me interested, and at some points some shockers.

Acting – Defranco is a good actor, weird in real life but I think you have to be a little tainted to be a good actor.

Special Effects – The CGI apes were sometimes not so good, but what we going to do go back to rubber ape costumes

Homage – Every Geek loves when current movies pay homage to the ones they love. Like in this movie the actor playing the bad guy says, “Get your stinking paws off me, you damn dirty ape”, and “It’s a madhouse in here”. Theres even homage about the lost pilots who find the planet of the apes.

Malfoy – I don’t know his name, but the actor playing the bad guy is Malfoy from the Harry Potter movies, now I’m no Harry Potter type Geek, but I know there’s some of you out there. He’s a bastard in this movie too.

Overall I was expecting a piece of cinema shit, and it surprised me. Sure there were some scenes I cringed, and was like come on…really? But bye and bye worth my money and I liked it.

Leave a Reply

