Yes the Point is to Win.

“If you ain’t first, you’re last” – Ricky Bobby

After reading Tobold’s post “Winning is not the purpose”, I would have to disagree.   I think Vince Lombardi put it best, “Winning isn’t everything, it’s the only thing”  

I think Tobold is trying to say MMO’s isn’t about winning, and there is no finality of one solid win. I believe that MMO’s are like life, alot of little wins, and thus that’s why Blizz succeeds, it makes those little wins count, time and again. Like Pavlov’s dogs, we drool for those little wins, whether it is a progression boss kill, a victory on a battleground, or just a new shiny purple to show off.

I don’t know about you, I play games to win, big or small. I want to be the best at what I do. Is that a good philosophy, should I just mill about and enjoy the game, perhaps?  Then again when I land on Boardwalk in Monopoly I don’t sit there and relish the moment with teary eyes, I slap up some hotels, and hope some hapless fool lands on them, so I can crush their spirits, and make them broke.

He says the purpose of these games is about having fun, and not winning. I don’t know about you I have lots of fun winning. It’s these little wins that drive us on to bigger and better things. Ever been in a guild that keeps failing, and that guild falls apart cause of it. I don’t see guilds exploding because they are winning.

I strive to get somewhere in my life, and my reward is that nice TV, or car, and my games are kind of the same. It’s this striving to better myself, to become better at tanking, pvp, or even collecting gold that makes the game fun, and my reward for that effort is the little win.

I’m sure there are alot of people out there who just like to enjoy the game, mill about, have fun….we call them hippies….losers.

2 Responses to “Yes the Point is to Win.”

  1. Hm. Lombardi also said, “If it doesn’t matter whether you win or lose, then why keep score?”

Leave a Reply

