Why I don’t heal anymore

I never really healed in World or Warcraft,or any MMO after that…sure I flirted with it maybe healed for a few 5-mans on my pally in Wrath, or a few scenarios in WAR on my Zealot, but I never really seriously dedicated myself to the healing arts in these later games, and I’ll tell you why.

I’m sick of it,  truth be told.

I played Dark Ages of Camelot for over 2 years, in that game I played a Cleric…I was everyone’s heal bitch. You think mages get alot of whispers for portals, that ain’t shit compared to the amount of rez tells I use to get in DAOC. Oh it wasn’t so in the beginning. I had an awesome Smite specced Cleric. Oh he rocked….then came a mighty nerf, and if you played Albion at all in DAOC in the beginning, I’m sure you heard of the almighty Smite Cleric Nerf.

*sigh* So be it, I’m a dedicated healer now. It was fun for a while…playing whack a mole with the green bars, then with my gear getting better, healing got easier. It got to the point where I could paint my nails while healing…not that I actually painted my nails…that was a metaphor…yeah a metaphor. Don’t get me wrong, it was nice being a Cleric, I was decent at what I did, and everybody liked me because I did my job, it just got well tedious.

The only real fun I had been in PvP, running around with the group. Watching the kill people, as I healed them, but then got tedious as well cause guess who was on the first to kill, or mezz list, yep me.

I was just tired of it….so when World of Warcraft came out in 2004, I decided to be a tank, and standing in the front lines this time and taking the hits.

Do I get the bug to heal, once in a while…tell you the truth, I still got the mad skillz at least in dungeons, raids I don’t know, but after a while it’s the same ole, same ole to me….an elaborate game of whack-a-mole with green bars.

2 Responses to “Why I don’t heal anymore”

  1. Dude, you have some of the best pictures… I’d let her whack my mole.

    Oh uh.. healing… right. Well thank god for the Warrior Priest bringin back the swing healing to the genre. I don’t heal anymore unless it involves the business end of my mace to the ass cheeks of my enemies. Incidental offhealing ftw.

  2. Healing is stressful, sometimes even more stressful than tanking. However, the good thing about Rift is all the souls, so almost guaranteed there is someone else in my instance group who can throw in some back-up healing when it looks like I need some help. That alleviates my anxiety a bit when I’m healing particularly difficult encounters.

Leave a Reply

