I, Robot

So a member of my guild was booted because he was using an AFK bot to stay in WF’s in RIFT. Now I wholeheartedly agree with the guild decision. It’s unfair to people in the WF that your taking up space instead of doing your job. I think PvP bots should go to hell really.

But here’s my philosophy though Farming Bots, Chinese Farmers, Gold Buying/Selling. Really I don’t have a problem with. Why?  

My Opinion.

I believe that these people actually keep prices down on the AH. For example when a popular botting program called Glider was taken off the market, the prices for farmed stuff went up. Why? Supply and Demand. With the Farmers there was alot of Supply, that out met the demand, thus better prices. Take that away, no supply more demand.

But it’s cheating?

Well yes and no. If you have someone or bot grinding out mobs for 8 hours a time, it’s doing the same thing you can do….if you had 8 hours to spare, and could stand grinding that long with out poking your own eyes out.

Where I draw the line?

PvP bots I do draw the line at. We are there to compete. Say we are playing football, if a member of my football team just stood there AFK I would be pissed.

What about Hacking?

Hacking is the insidious by-product of all this. Now I got hacked years ago, and it took a week and a half to be restored. Now WoW got it down to days.  There are steps to improve this now with authenticator.

The Truth of the Matter –

I’m fascinated a little bit about bots, and how they work as a computer scientist, I have a curiosity about them.

What are your Thoughts on Botting?

6 Responses to “I, Robot”

  1. I’m pretty much in the same place you are on the bots, honestly.

    If the server were so completely overrun with bots that I literally could not gather anything anywhere I went, then I might be a bit more upset at the gathering bots, but for the most part it’s just like other players where we all do our own thing and go about our business without any significant impact on one another’s play.

    But PvP bots do have a direct impact on my play. When someone on my team isn’t pulling their weight it’s time for them to pack their crap and go. I hate PvP bots with a passion, even the ones that are simply free honor kills for me. I’m there to fight, and I want a freaking fight.

  2. I totally agree with you. As someone who makes most of his gold by crafting I love these guys! Nightime firesales from Chinese botters are awesome!

  3. I have grown a good esteem for my Gaurdian Community on Derpstrike. As the constant names known for AFK botting get completely shunned by the entire community. Channel 5 is just amazing.

    This ass, named Mageyadie, spent a week straight AFKing in every scenario. For which, he accomplished making a great name for himself. He can’t find a guild, he can’t find a party, he is just hated.

    Love Derpstrike. Good server so far.

  4. Legolas4Life Says:

    Botting is cheating. Saying it helps keep AH prices low is just a way for you to rationalize it. If the prices are too high for you, either make more gold or get off your ass and farm for the stuff yourself. The legitimate players who do spend a large portion of their time farming get screwed over when the market gets flooded with bot crap. But I’m sorry, since it’s not negatively affecting you, then it can’t be wrong. Great logic Riv.

    • theerivs Says:

      How’s it going playing Hello Kitty Online? My logic is sound, if it benefits me then it’s good. If not it’s bad.

Leave a Reply

