RIFT is nice….but…

Do not get me wrong, I like RIFT alot. It’s a good solid game…but I have my eye on Star Wars. Yes I am fully ensnared by the hype perhaps, and I don’t care.

I must admit, I do get hyped real easy. I got super hyped for Warhammer Online. In the end playing that game was  like having a total bitch for a girlfriend, but you put up with her cause she can suck a golf ball through a garden hose.  I mean I had great fun PvPing, but that’s all I did.

Reasons I’m getting hyped.

1. Playing as a Sith – Any game I get to play as a Lawful Evil bastard like me, I’m already giddy like a little school girl.

2. Story Telling – Putting some immersion into the MMORPG, I think will be a good thing. 

3. Bioware – Don’t know if you know this, but Bioware has a pretty good track record

4. Star Wars – Yeah it’s Light Saber Throwing, TaunTaun Riding, AT&AT Smashing Star Mother Fucking Wars…Nuff said.

9 Responses to “RIFT is nice….but…”

  1. It does look pretty freaking cool.

  2. SWTOR is like a fat chick wearing a thong. It is doing nothing for me.

  3. What a coincidence, those are all the reasons I’m excited for SWTOR too! And then some 😉 Empire is the way to go!

  4. Legolas4Life Says:

    Bioware doesn’t have a good track record. They are the fucking Usain Bolt of game makers.

  5. Whatever reputation Bioware had, they lost it with KOTOR 2. They have universally sucked ever since. Dragon Age: Blood Fountains was deplorable on every level – buggy as hell, bad UI, bad AI, the old “every enemy is a cloaking ninja archer” ultrafail, a story that made no sense, etc. And oh yes…blood fountains. Gotta love a world where somehow every living, and some UN-living mobs contain a metric ton of blood under high pressure. Ridiculous..and the sequel is even worse!! Bioware shot their wad with KOTOR and everyone knows it. I keep hoping they’ll regain their past glory but I’ve about given up. SWTOR looks like WoW with a Star Wars skin. And frankly I don’t know a single RL or OL person who has any interest in an MMO based in that universe. In fact, I don’t know anyone who wants to play in any TV/movie pigeonhole. WoW was based on a game franchise, which is a lot easier to swallow (atlhough some of WoW’s most annoying design tenets are carried over from the RTS). Even a book or comic world would be tolerable, but TV and movies have inherent expectations and character lore wrapped up in them. Currently, MMOs are too limited in what kind of experience they can deliver, so video-based IP and MMOs are a poor combination IMHO.

Leave a Reply

