What kind of MMO player are you?

So I was thinking the other day, and most MMO players I feel like they fall into basically 3 archetypes when they are playing MMO’s in terms of their real life persona versus their online persona.

For example the person I play online is alot like the person I am offline. Generally a nice person, with a little bit of a bad streak, and definitely indulge in some vices, and guilty pleasures, heck I wore “The Drunkard” Title with pride in Warhammer Online.

The three archetypes I believe are these.

The Opposite – Some plays an opposite of themselves, for example if they are really good in life, their MMO persona might be real bad. Perhaps they play the opposite gender role, or maybe they are a little bad in life and play a real good guy. Whatever the case these people use MMO’s to explore a part of their nature they don’t get to experience in real life.

The Hyper-Reality – They play as a super version of themselves, for example if they are good, they are real good, and conversely if they are bad, they are really bad. Not just an extension of themselves, but an exaggeration of themselves.

Themselves – They play as themselves for the most part, this is more of an extension of themselves into the virtual world.

So what type of player are you?

4 Responses to “What kind of MMO player are you?”

  1. I’ve always found it tiring to play a part other than “myself”. Maybe if I were on one of those newfangled RP servers, I’d try something different… but I’m just not very good at acting. I kinda like it that way.

  2. Depends on how I’m feeling, really. Good thing about gaming personas is that, unlike me, they don’t need to be coherent. If I’ve had a bad day I’ll be more inclined to terminate innocent kittens.

    • This article and what Sara calls a gaming persona is a part of a theory called patchwork (sociology). In short, everyone has a few different personalities, switching them depending on the social environment they are in. You behave differently when you’re with friends, family, strangers, coworkers, etc… It really depends on the person how big these changes are and how deep they go, and most of the time it’s got nothing to do with being sick or having a disorder (well there are certain cases…).

      What I’m getting at is that the relative anonimity that interactions over the internet offer seems to nurture a wildly different (at least in comparison with the usual small twists or changes) personality in most of us. A large part of the people that interact with others over the web have a special persona reserved for it, which is different enough from their normal ones that people who know them usually aren’t be able to recognise them. The switch happens subconsciously and you being aware of it has no effect on what that certain personality is like. Well no until you consciously switch to another one.

      Sorry for rambling, thanks for highlighting this. I find it fascinating when I catch myself acting otherwise than I usually do. 🙂

Leave a Reply

