On the Importance of Being Bad

“Evil will always triumph, because Good is dumb” ~ Dark Helmet, Spaceballs the Movie

Other Bloggers have touched on this subject, and this post has been sitting in my draft box for awhile, so I thought i would finish my thoughts on it, and post it.  

Ever since I was young, I always felt akin to the bad guy. I always played the robber, to my friends cops, I was always the Decepticon,  to my friends Autobots, or I was Cobra to my friends GIJOE.  It’s not that I go around kicking puppies when I’m not playing, but lets be honest it’s fun to be bad, to be the rebel, to have power, to have no constraints of morality.

When playing video games, I love games like Fable, or MMO’s such as Warhammer Online, that allow you to be the bad guy. My favorite part of Wrath of the Lich King Expansion of World of Warcraft was the Death Knight starter zone, where you played the bad guy. You kill peasants, and even someone you loved. Ahh the price of being evil.

When Star Wars comes out I will be going Sith, Why? I’ll tell you why.

Reasons I like being Evil.

1. Choices – I can actually be good when I want, or selfish. I can do more of what I want, and not feel guilty.

2. Gear– Black goes with everything, and is very slimming. Skulls are pretty bad ass too.

3. Humor– Evil people have a better sense of humor, Good always is a little uptight.

4.  Girls – Chicks Love Bad Dudes.

To sum it all up, a good story needs a good villian, and I’d rather be a good villian, then a mediocre hero.

8 Responses to “On the Importance of Being Bad”

  1. Aye cant beat being the bad guy.

    Regarding swtor are you planning on creating a high latency lowlife guild ? From what I hear its gonna be mixed realms aka us eu folks can mix with you lot….. so mark me up as interested if thats the case.

  2. Legolas4Life Says:

    Batman is good. And he doesn’t have a problem getting poontang.

  3. i like being Machiavellian, not so much bad, but people are like “this’ and will do that out of self interest. I aspire to be good, and the times Ive dnd’d as evil, its been chaotic evil because I don’t do real evil well, nutty evil, im ok 😛
    But I do like the black. And the skulls. Never gonna grow out of wearing skulls.

Leave a Reply

