Things I Love About Cataclysm – Part 4 – Xylem’s Apprentice Quest Chain

.
.
Let’s start here first:

Guild Pride (x3, bedazzled up)

As a guild we completed our final Cataclysm heroic run, Grim Batol, earlier this week.  After downing the final boss we were awarded with the ability to purchase a Guild Battle Standard from Guild Cataclysm Dungeon Hero.  I do think its a bit strange that completing PVE content awards something for PVP, but, this is not the only Guild Battle Standard available, and not the only rank.  But shit, look at those things.  Pure eye candy – and with a 15 min cooldown you can pop it out a couple times per BG/TB. 

Ok, Ok…. so onto the Xylem’s Apprentice Quest Chain.  Anyone noticed that your guildmates/fellow servermates have the abililty to randomly turn into a goblin?  I had noticed this a couple times, scrolled over to find out what the tooltip said for the buff and google searched the ability “Identity Crisis.”

This buff comes from the item Faded Wizard’s Hat which is a quest reward recieved at the end of a chain of quests you will do for Archmage Xylem in Azshara.  The hat will turn you into a random Xylem’s apprentice for 30 min.  The buff persists thru combat, but not death.  It has a 30 min cooldown.  This is a Horde Only item. 

(Sorry Alliance brethern, no need to read any further – let me direct you here for an awesome “Bear Wall” of a story – that should give you something to do while us Hordies discuss.)

The quest chain begins in Bilgewater Harbor, Azshara.  Talk to Teemo who is located here:

You will complete the following quests: (stolen from another website, cause I can)

Start at Teemo in Bilgewater Harbor loc 59,4 : 50,7
1.)Azshara Blues
2.)Friends Come In All Colors

Helping out Ergll (the g is silent):
3.)A Little Pick-me-up
4.)Absorbent
5.)Full of Hot Water
6.)That’s Just Rude!

Finding Archmage Xylem:
7.)The Way to a Mage’s Heart
8.)Wash Out
9.)Dressed to Impress

Helping Xylem and his Apprentices:
10.)Shear Will
11.)Waste of Thyme
12.)Renewable Resource

13.)Manual Labor
14.)Trouble Under Foot

Getting to Xylem’s Trials:
15.)The Pinnacle of Learning
16.)Watch Your Step

Xylem’s Trials
17.)The Trial of Fire
18.)The Trial of Frost
19.)The Trial of Shadow

Finding Azuregos:
20.)Xylem’s Asylum
21.)Wasn’t It Obvious?
22.)Easy is Boring
23.)Turning the Tables

The Final Battle
24.)Fade to Black

Then do these two quests from two gobbos at North Station:

25.)Pro-liberation
26.)Ice Cold

Finally:

27.) Farewall.Minnow – get from Azuregos

This sends you back to Bilgewater Harbor where you can finally collect your Faded Wizard’s Hat

I also want to add that there are 4 achievements that can be obtained in this area, so for any achievement whores (like myself) read on.

#1)  Joy Ride

#2,3,4) Are all related to the Trials that you do for Xylem (Fire, Ice, Shadow).  Please follow the links provided to get the info on how each of those are done.  It took me several tries on the Shadow and Ice to finally receive the achievement.  Ice was much easier once I realized you could get on your flying mount and drop down on the Ice bubbles to avoid the Ice smoke and build up your stacks.  With a 60 sec buff timer, you have lots of time to wait for respawns and not have to take chances with being hit with the smoke.

Happy Questing!!

::::EDIT::::

To add…. I’ve been getting a lot of shit lately for playing Disc still.  I even had  random mage in an AB last night tell me they were “proud of me” for sticking with it.  I was starting to feel like Disc was my boyfriend of a couple years, that isn’t treating me good anymore, but because I’m comfortable with him and know all his nuinances and fart smells that we have to stick together.  I was more than toying with the fact of breaking things off.  Then comes an MMO champion post about upcoming 4.0.6 changes:

  • Levitate now lasts 10 min, up from 2 min.
  • Power Word: Fortitude now costs 22% of base mana, down from 69%.
  • Power Word: Shield now scales from 87% of spell power, up from 41.8%. Base absorb increased by 110%, from 3906 to 8136. Now costs 25% of base mana, up from 19% of base mana. (HOLY FUCKING HELL)
  • Focused Will now reduces all damage taken by 5/10%, up from 4/6%.
  • Grace can now be active on multiple targets at a time.
  • Strength of Soul now also rpocs from Greater Heal and Flash Heal.
  • Pain Suppression no longer increases resistance to Dispel mechanics.
  • Rapture now energizes you with 2/4/6% of your total mana, up from 1.5/2/2.5%.
  • Atonement now affects a friendly party or raid target within 15 yards, up from 8 yards.
  • Improved Power Word: Shield now also increase the damage absorbed by an additional 15/30% when Power Word: Shield is cast on yourself.

Does this mean Disc is fixed?? No… it doesn’t.  I love the buffs to my bubbles, but they are so easy to dispel.  The Pain Suppression change is terrible for us.  But, I see improvements and lots of them.

It’s like my stale, stagnant boyfriend decided to buy me a whole new wardrobe.  On top of that, he’s keeping things interesting in the bedroom again. Yeah, I think i’ll keep him around.

6 Responses to “Things I Love About Cataclysm – Part 4 – Xylem’s Apprentice Quest Chain”

  1. Levitate now 10 mins….AWESOME…making my priest NAO!!!! 😛

  2. Oh did I tell you how pissed off this quest made me in Azshara? I so want to abandon this damn thing.

Leave a Reply

