MMO Idea: Medievel Japan

I think the only MMO that had a medievel themed Japan expansion was Ultima Online if I remember correctly.

Why isn’t there more MMO’s with Samurai’s and Ninja. There’s an RPG called Legend of the Five Rings that would really lend itself to an MMO.  This RPG has different clans based on animals, like the Scorpion Clan.

I grew up watching samurai/kung fu movies, and just like the mythos of that era. I think alot of geeks like this type of genre. I mean even World of Warcraft has the Pandaren. A Panda Kung Fu guy. Not to mention the World of Warcraft always you to dress up as Ninjas.

I don’t know about you, but I would love to play a samurai-themed dude, who swings his sword, or a ninja who wears all black and climbs walls as well as stealthily moves about.

8 Responses to “MMO Idea: Medievel Japan”

  1. Legolas4Life Says:

    I’m in your MMO’s stealin’ your lootz.

  2. there’s got to be some asian mmo’s with this, like silkroad maybe?

  3. I was just thinking about this recently, the first week that Cataclysm was out. I loved playing Jade Empire a few years ago, and have often thought that something like that would make for a fun MMO.

    Additionally, I would be very interested in playing as a a ninja or samurai class, or something to that effect, in WoW. I know that we have rogues, etc., but it’s not the same. A class that could really incorporate martial arts abilities and animations would be pretty badass.

    Just a thought, though. Thanks for the post!

  4. There are some out there, but they are mostly of the eastern-designed F2P variety…. so they just aren’t to my taste at all.

  5. Naruto MMO FTW. LOL.

  6. I’m with you on L5R as an MMO setting; I wish there were novels to read, games to play (other than just the card game, no one me plays – go Scorpions!), etc. etc. Love the setting.

Leave a Reply

