A Look Back at Wrath

As we wind down Wrath, and start to head into Cataclysm, I want to share my favorite parts of Wrath of the Lich King, and I hope Blizzard builds on that.

1. Phasing Technology – Man when I first looked at this it was truly innovative. You made a difference in the world you were playing. I liked it alot.

2. Some Better Quests – Say what you want about the Deathknights starting area, but when you were confronted with a person you knew from the past, and you had to kill them, that was some bold storytelling there. More of the same please..

3. The Fall and Rise of the Raid – When they introduced the ToC it felt like Raiding was no more, then they restored my faith with ICC. It was a great comeback, and some really different encounters. A mark of a good raid is the amount of times you hear people mimick bosses in your guild vent, and when I hear, “Good news everybody, the slime pipes are working again”…I just smile.

4. Vehicle Combat/Jousting – Though not a huge fan of it, I thought it was pretty neat in a MMO to have it, and I thought with a few tweaks it really could be awesome. I think they are on to something, and for what it’s worth it was something I never saw in an MMO.

5. Some cool plot twists – When the Forsaken bomb everyone to hell at Wrathgate, I was like Keanu in the Matrix – Whoa!

Sure there’s alot more cool things, and there is probably ALOT of sucky things, overall WotLK brought some new things to the table, and I really look forward to what Blizzard puts on the plate for Cataclysm.

8 Responses to “A Look Back at Wrath”

  1. I don’t often agree with you but on these points .. I agree 100%. I have a feeling Cata will not only build on the good things in Wrath, but completely blow it out of the water in terms of awesomeness.

    Boooooooooooneeee Stoooooooooooorm!

  2. I think Cataclysm will be crap after a month. I’m not buying it and I can final say I don’t want to play WoW anymore.

  3. “5. Some cool plot twists – When the Forsaken bomb everyone to hell at Wrathgate, I was like Keanu in the Matrix – Whoa!”

    I think what you’re going for here is “I was like Keanu in Every Single Movie He’s Ever Been In – Whoa!”

  4. I agree with all of your points. The questline leading up to the cinematic and the dramatic ending with the movie completely blew me away. It was absolutely unexpected and unlike what Blizzard had done with the game before. There need to be more questlines like that one in Cata. And I can’t wait to see how the destruction of Azeroth comes about with the phasing technology that is around now. I hope they utilize it to it’s fullest.

Leave a Reply

