Life ain’t nothing but Bitches, and Money.

“Life ain’t nothing but Bitches, and Money” from the song Gangsta, Gangsta by NWA.

I was thinking about this today as I was eating lunch at the local strip joint tossing singles at women, whilst I dine on a carb/fat laden greasy hamburger, and drink a frosty Bud.  That some women are up in arms, about this video.  I don’t really know why, it’s not something new about our way of life.

Some of them say that this video is from the devil, and this video is ok, because it’s satirical or a parody.  Don’t get me wrong isn’t it a parody of a song… That’s the whole point to be a parody, to try to take things to an outrageous point where it pokes fun at things. That reminds me the original isn’t that fricking empowering to women…California girls flouncing around in their bikini tops…Seriously? We are having issues with the parody of this song, I think someone needs to start with the original.

The problem doesn’t lie with these girls, or gamers. It’s our society, Girls whore themeselves out for money, because our society allows it. Tell you the truth I would too if I could. If I could slap on a sexy outfit for a few minutes show some cleavage, and get paid copious amounts of money for little work. Sign me the hell up. If I was a girl I would single-handedly move the feminist movement back 20 years. 

I’m going to say something radical….I think the fault lies with Mothers of the world. A mans first view of womenhood is their mother, everything they first learn about women is from their Mother, maybe they are failing somewhere to instill the right attitude about women into their Sons, perhaps it is women themeselves who are perpetrating these denegrations on women by allowing them to happen, and promoting them by saying it’s ok to their son’s.

But I digress… Is it wrong, or right, bad, or good? That is for every individual to decide, but it fits in the frame and context of  what our society is about, and I am a social creature. 

Oh snap, the stripper just dropped from the pole and did the splits, gotta run!

22 Responses to “Life ain’t nothing but Bitches, and Money.”

  1. I loved both videos equally. They are very ENTERTAINING and isn’t that what they are made for?

  2. This video is horribly offensive.

    How DARE they make fun of that gamer man by shoving him into that 3-sizes-to-small The Flash costume.

    And look at all the skin he exposed.

    Really…. I never.

  3. Also, I disagree with the fault of Mothers comment.

    The reason this video was made with tall pretty skinny white chicks is because I assume that is the most preferred look for most males that game (and furthermore, males in general) – or in other words the target audience of this video. For example, If i’m looking to sell Poligrip i’m certainely not going to hire Eminem as my spokesmodel and advertise on the LOGO channel.
    All the Geek Girlz (or whatever) are interested in here is attention, fame and money. They are using their niche to get it.

    Men, as offensive as this may be to you, think with their penis. A lot. Sex sells. Your mother could tell you that Megan Fox is a dirty whore with herpes who killed 4 kittens and that doesn’t mean you won’t need to boner tuck when you walk by the FHM magazine with her on the cover at your local grocer.

    • I am offended.

      Though….

      “When I get to drinking, my penis does all my thinking” – from the song “Everywhere I Go” byt Hollywood Undead.

  4. “I’m a female gamer and I’m told I’m sexy and attractive. Do I flaunt it? Hell yeah. (I bet those gals had a blast making the video and I would have jumped at the chance to be a part of it.) Is it the sum of everything I am? Hell no. But I don’t see how celebrating sexuality or beauty is any different than celebrating sexual orientation or ethnicity. What next? No gay marches or Black Pride rallies? If it’s a part of you, being pretty, being smart, being a geek, being gay, being whatever, there should be no shame in enjoying it and poking fun at it. Bonus points if you can mix them.”

    OMG thank you. I’ve seen some valid points in all of this sexism talk, but this talk about a parody video is really borderline ridiculous. You’ve put the thoughts together so well here.

    BRAVO!

  5. Newsflash : Hot gamer chicks are hot.

    More at 11.

  6. Um, I’ve actually familiarized myself with the original song and video, and I’m familiar with the concept of a parody. In fact, I seem to be the only person here who is since I get that parody and satire are not synonyms. Yes, the Girl Gamer song is a parody of a Katy Perry song. The original song is awful and the parody isn’t doing it many favors. Both the original and the parody, however, are guilty of the same fetishization of women served up for the male gaze.

    Just because this is a parody song and not a deep work of troubled genius doesn’t mean that I can’t critique it. Just because it’s done for a low budget by women doesn’t make it immune to being sexist. Yes, it’s only a small part of the problem, but it is part of the problem.

    There is a difference between being sexually liberated and putting yourself out as a sexual object. The video is guilty of only the latter, especially when it reinforces the notion that only skinny white chicks who are acquiescent to men can be sexy.

    • fetishization?….I didn’t see any whips in the video…now that would be hot. 😉

      The point I was making that gaming culture is part of a larger mix of problems, and that to point the finger at gamers and damn them is wrong, I think we need to fix the whole messed up pile of burning poop on the door step, the problem as I see it is not many people want change. Their happy with the status quo, and those that are screaming for change go a little too overboard in their zealousness.

      Meh but what do I know.

  7. WoW Rivs you’re really taking it back talking about NWA? It brings back memories while I was in college at Liberty University listening to Dre, Eazy E, and Ice Cube, all rappers I like (RIP Eazy E) as raunchy as they were with their lyrics and the way they talked about women, I still listened to them. Public Enemy, Schoolly D, Guns N Rose, Metallica, Indigo Girls, Heavy D, Big Daddy Kane, etc., were others in my rotation too.

    Anyway, I watched this video; I really have no opinion about it. I chalk it up as a “typical gamer video.” I did notice the lady from the webisodes, “The Guild” was in it. Mix it up, do something different, like maybe add some flavor (variety of ethnicities) and that would have gotten my attention. ;) I also noticed that Seth Green was in the video, which might explain why I watched it in it entirely. I’ve always liked him.

    • Yep I grew up listening to alot of the same stuff, I want to add though a little LL Cool J, Tupac, Megadeth, and Slayer.

      Indigo Girls…..not so much.

  8. Well, the difference between flaunting sexual attractiveness and events like Gay Pride and Black Pride is that being sexually attractive gives a person a huge advantage at life, being gay or black does not. Showing off good looks is like showing off being rich.

    I’ve been thinking a lot about sex in geek culture (which includes, but is not exclusive to gaming culture) since I left my comment on Empowered Fire. It’s very true that cheap sex and geekness is just a reflection of cheap sex everywhere in western culture. I do worry about younger girls and the message they’re getting (not just from the video itself, but in general): that they have to dress and act in a way to please men, that they have to fit a certain mold to be considered attractive.

    From my experience, the majority of geek women don’t fit Western society’s magazine cover standard mold. What I’ve always loved about being geeky was that I didn’t have to plaster myself in make up, wear painful shoes or spend thousands of dollars on clothes to fit in and be considered attractive. I mean, I could if wanted to, but I didn’t HAVE to. And I’d love for the next generation of geeky teenage girls to be fortunate enough have the same experience I did.

    • “Well, the difference between flaunting sexual attractiveness and events like Gay Pride and Black Pride is that being sexually attractive gives a person a huge advantage at life, being gay or black does not. Showing off good looks is like showing off being rich”

      I know I’m a pretty mother fucker, so I live with this curse as well. I can’t turn off my rare animal magnetism…I got the Kavorka.

  9. I think that I am either not smart enough nor care enough about the issue that should be so relevant to me? When the feminist or sexist talk begins, my eyes glaze over =/

    I thought both videos were entertaining. I just showed my boyfriend the Gamer Girls one and he was highly entertained. He also told me to get in the kitchen so I think I am supposed to be offended. Ah well =)

  10. This whole thing reeks of a bunch of jaded women who just were looking to jump in on the bandwagon. That may be cynical, and I may be a sexist pig for saying that, but COME ON. For god sakes. Has no one stopped to ask the wholly important question “Does it really have to freaking matter EVERY single time someone puts out a video?” (or by that extension – Pic, Story, Fanfic, etc…).

    The reality of the situation is that some people ARE COMPLETELY FINE with their sexuality, and how they portray themselves. Not everyone has to be on board with a feminism, or for that matter any -ism, movement.

    And then there is the patently obvious statement – It’s a fucking parody!

    Honestly, how many people were up in arms over the scary movie franchise? I think it was #3 where they are making fun at war of the worlds, and they portray almost every crazy man as a homosexual.

    For god sakes people, not everything has to be about a movement. Sometimes, just sometimes, things can be just what they are. A fun poke at pop culture.

  11. Hm… See, I’m split on the vid. On the one hand, I like the message that geeky = sexy*, but on the other hand, the producer really got a ton of mileage out of the American Beauty naked-on-her-back shots – it wound up being gratuitous by dint of being the least interesting part of the vid**, but shown the most, as if to hammer home the point (no pun intended). And that’s where the question comes up about for whom the vid was made: as a statement by geeky ladies, or by men for the male gaze. Personally, I wasn’t offended – in fact, there were parts of this I thought were really cool. Like the Stan Lee cameo (cute!). Like the Katee Sackoff cameo*** (badass!), like the Lara Croft cosplay (oh, hellsyeh****).

    But in the end, while I can acknowledge the cute n’ sassy, I was a little disappointed – there could have been more to this vid that said the same thing with more of a for-women attitude – the lots o’ nekkid? It just threw the whole thing into the Not Terribly Classy category. Bummer. That’s my take on the vid.

    But, Rives, Rives, Rives – what is this?
    I think the fault lies with Mothers of the world. A mans first view of womenhood is their mother, everything they first learn about women is from their Mother, maybe they are failing somewhere to instill the right attitude about women into their Sons, perhaps it is women themeselves who are perpetrating these denegrations on women by allowing them to happen, and promoting them by saying it’s ok to their son’s.

    After spending time in the social work field, I can tell you that there are indeed plenty of messed up families wherein messed up ideas get passed generation to generation, but no way in hell am I gonna believe that culture-wide misogyny is Mama’s fault. I hate pointing fingers, but friend, you missed the mark there =(

    *No slut shaming allowed.
    **The dancing in cosplay outfits? Totally cute, imho. For example, why dress up as a superhero when you can dress up as a sexy superhero?
    ***C’mon, people! Just because the woman has longish red hair doesn’t mean it’s gotta be Felicia Day! That’s Katee Sackoff, the woman who does the brilliant Starbuck portrayal – they even tip the watcher off with the, “So say we all,” line! Gah!
    ****You’ve come a long way, baby – do you remember back in the day when it wasn’t worth your while to roll a female D&D charater ‘cos her strength was nerfed because she was a lady? I remember – I remember being pissed off. The Lara Croft comes along, and she is strong & smart, & the hero, & OH YEH!

    • Well to be honest, I think alot of Fathers are failing as well….but since we we’re talking Women, and where the views of women come from as a male. I think it all starts with the Mother…I think there’s a whole Oedipus thing going on…but I digress.

      • I’mma make a mama face at you right now. Ready?

        o.Ô

        Can you see me with one eyebrow up in the air? This is one road you do not want to go down with any woman who’s ever raised a child, friend. Trust me on this.

        Look – we live in messy times, friend – it’s everyone’s fault: from family to peers to media. We need to take better care of each other.

  12. I’m surprised that the issue most people have with this video is one of sexism or w/e. Don’t they hear the horrible shrieking? I mean really, things that pass as singing or music these days… I couldn’t watch it for more than a minute or so… without muting it.

    @People worried about 4 attention seeking mynxes making a video to expose themselves: ur doin it wrong. There are many opressed women that need your worry instead, and strangely enough most of them aren’t white, tall or skinny. Go save the world.

  13. I’ve read a few of your posts and was enjoying all of them, but this one, to me, fell way below the line of your usual quality.
    It was quite uninformed about psychology and sociology in general.

Leave a Reply

