Where it all started…

With post like this from Slurms about fighting games, or Syp with BBS’s it had me in a nostalgic kind of mood. So I thought I would share a little bit of abridged history of the Rivs, and where I came from…..

It all started with the Atari 2600, it was a gift for Christmas and there are countless hours logged onto that playing games like Pitfall, Robotank, and Adventure. I think what started my passion for PvP, and Multiplaying Games was a little game called Combat. Crushing my Older Brother at in this medium gave me great thrills, cause he was bigger, older, and usually beat me at everything else.

Then I graduated to the Commodore 64, where I fell in love with RPG’s such as Bards Tale, Ultima,  Gold Box Series like Pool of Radiance, and Might and Magic. I would stay up to the wee hours of the early night playing games such as these. To my parents chagrin the modem opened up a whole world for me, and things like Chat Rooms, and BBS’s where I discovered a whole world is out there.

The Arcade was a big part of my life, as I dumped quarters into games like Street Fighter, and Mortal Kombat, but never straying from the classics like Donkey Kong, Defender, and Asteroids. Where you look down the list and see RIV as the initials. I also was pretty good at Pinball. One of my favorite was a Pinball machine called Funhouse, which years later Mr. Bungle (One of my favorite bands) would have sound clips from this pinball machine in one of their songs. One of my favorite quotes from this Pinball game was, “Go grab yourself a Hot Dog!”   As I battle my way to domination at the local Arcades, things were changing all around me.

The PC gaming era was upon us soon enough, and I played games like Wing Commander, and Eye of the Beholder. Which gradually led to games like Warcraft: Orcs versus Humans, then led too Starcraft, Quake, and Unreal Tournament. Where I could hear the scream of my enemies across the way from me via LAN.

These are just some of the games I played, that forged me into the gamer I am,and as I look forward to games such as Guild Wars 2, and Star Wars: TOR….and it makes me realize that the graphics may get flashier, and things get more complicated in the end it boils down to one thing.    A game needs to be more then fun, it needs to create memories. Then it will live on in the hearts, and minds of gamers and truly become legendary.

One Response to “Where it all started…”

  1. LOL. Exactly the same games as you. Atari 2600, Commie 64, Atari 130XE and Atari 1040ST… TI994/A… then a PC.

Leave a Reply

