The guests are met, the feast is set…

I’m back, and let me tell you,  it is so hard to go back to work/”real-life” after a great vacation.  I’ve found myself dragging all week. 

Last week I flew to Canada for a meet up with my guild members.  For a bit of background I am in a relatively small guild of real-life friends.  They are all from the same city and have been friends for many years.  They are good guys, and even though I was a bit nervous that things might not go well, I’m happy to say that the meet up went wonderfully.  They were the most gracious of hosts to me.  Friendships forged on vent and in Azeroth can successfully transfer into the real-world. I am proud to now be able to call my guildmates my real-life friends. My only regret is that we did not capture a photo of us all together.

A few funny things that I learned:

  • When travelling internationally, you will be asked by a customs agent the reason for your travel.  If you say “I’m meeting some friends,” they will ask how you know these friends.  When you explain “online” they will want more details. “We play a game called World of Warcraft,” sounds really suspicious.  I was asked for names of the people I was visiting, how long I’ve known them, where I would be staying and was forced to show my return trip itinerary (which luckily I could access on my IPhone [seriously, who carries around paper itineraries anymore!] – I’ll make sure and send Canadian border control my international roaming data package bill).  Now, I have never flown internationally before, but I’m pretty positive that is not standard procedure. 
  • The day I flew back to the US I had to go through Homeland Security.  When I explained to the rep that I was visiting my World of Warcraft guildmates his response was simply a knowingly, “Warcraft, eh?”  No suspicions, no extra questions.  After I had been approved for reentry into the US he did ask, “So, wait, you play Warcraft?”
  • My fingering position when I play WoW is in some sort of odd claw shape (or so I’ve now been told).  I refuse to change, I like carpal tunnel.
  •  It is both freeing and peculiar to speak about WoW in real-life conversations with groups of people.  It is quite embarrassing to have people refer to me as my in-game name, rather than my real-life name outside of WoW.
  • You can’t get real iced tea in Canada.  I drink iced tea pretty much exclusively.
  • A 24-case of bud light bottles is 41.67 CAD.  $40 for 24 bottles of bud light!  I have the picture to prove it.
  • You don’t have to press Capslock (or whatever your vent key may be) in order to speak to your guildmates when they are in the same room. It took me till Professor Putricide to get in the habit of not pressing it.

20 Responses to “The guests are met, the feast is set…”

  1. elleseven Says:

    We pay alot for beer and cigarettes ($10/pack) and food in general. Aprox $4.70/gallon of gas. Our heavy tax burden funds our free healthcare system.

    • I loved the packs of cigarettes and I wish ours in the US were more like them.

      http://www.smoke-free.ca/warnings/canada-warnings.htm

      Those images took up the top half of a pack of smokes. In the US the most popular Surgeon General warnings for health risks that we get are “Low birth weight.” This is only effecting a small portion of pregnant women smokers. I think if Marbolo light packs came with the impotence ash cigarette it would be a much better smoking detterent.

  2. theerivs Says:

    40 bucks for 24 bottles, yea thank goodness I drink whiskey, probably 5 bucks for Seagrams 7 or Crown Royal up there a bottle.

  3. Sounds like you had fun!

    Do they really drink bagged milk in Canada?

  4. Did you have sex with any of them?

  5. Actually, that’s pretty standard procedure when you travel internationally, especially at the US/Canada border. Weird though, usually the Canadian border patrol will be more chill, but it’s all up to the discretion of the guy on duty. Your own country also won’t ask too many questions on the way back, just stuff about gifts so they can tax you if you go over 😄

    You should be bringing ties to your home country (that’s why you were probably asked for your return ticket…the guy was probably worried you were going to meet someone you met online, get married and stay forever…seriously!) and be prepared to give any information about your trip the officer might ask for. I learned this from over a year of my husband and I traveling across the border to visit each other while we were dating 😛 Man, the border horror stories I could tell you…

    Where abouts in Canada did you visit? Prices in general are pretty ridiculous, because of taxes, but Ontario is the worst.

    And reading this article was hilarious…I bitch about not being able to get real ice tea in the states! They always give me this weird stuff. But you guys also have raspberry ice tea in restaurants, and I love that, so I’m torn.

  6. I’ve discovered that different parts of the world have different approaches to getting across borders. In North America and Australia, they are paranoid about you getting in. Hence, border guards tend to grill you because they’re terrified of letting in people who will stay and drain their resources.

    Go to places like Portugal, and they barely say anything other than ‘hello’. You don’t even have to fill out a form. But once in the country you have to use your passport for everything …checking in to a hotel, renting a car, etc. So they keep track of you that way. And I presume that if you overstay your welcome they can then come get you to chuck you out.

    I can tell you horror stories of being harried by both US and Canadian border folks. And I’ve finally learned to NOT try to make a joke under any circumstances. You can practically see them putting a star next to your name in their computer system. I imagine it says ‘smart arse – give an extra hard time the next time they show up’.

    Btw, I find that EVERYWHERE in the developed world is more expensive than the US. It’s because we all tend to have good social support networks for our citizens and have to pay for far smaller a proportion of our citizens being in prisons!

    Hope you played your brains out. 🙂

  7. […] is a loyalty that they have being real-life friends that is hard to come by in other guilds. The majority of the members live within walking distance […]

Leave a Reply

