Hate the Playa!

Alot of hate going around about WoW lately, and it’s all over the blogosphere. I have played MMO’s since 2002, starting with Dark Ages of Camelot, then WoW. I’ve played Warhammer Online since day 1, and played Pirates of the Burning Sea, Age of Conan, Star Trek Online, Lord of the Rings Online, I went to Juliard, and I seen the Exorcist 163 FRICKING times, and it keeps getting funnier every time I seen it…..so I like to think I know a little bit about MMO’s. First of all I’m going to tell you the reasons I play the MMO’s I do, and why I give them my Money. Let’s start with the 800lb Gorilla.

World of Warcraft –

Community – I seen the WoW community evolve, and change. When you have a city of 11 million people, you’re going to have different groups of people. There are going to be people with the same morales, and mindsets as you, and your going to have people with radically different mindsets. Your going to have those punks that skateboard on the sidewalks, and your gonna have the crotchety old men who wish things were back when they were use to. Sure when WoW was young, and the community was smaller it was easier to find those people of like mind, now you might have to search harder, and put in some work. I remember my Mother being called a trannie whore in Barren Chat back in 2005, that any different then the Anal joke stupidity of today…No it isn’t

Has the Looking for Group Tool Destroyed WoW?  No I believe it has changed WoW, it allows people to be more solo, but how is this different then the queuing up for scenarios in WAR, or STO. It isn’t any different. I still group up with my guild, and maybe get a puggers, still have great fun. It makes life easier for the player, and he doesn’t have to do the leg work to find a group anymore, and how can that be a bad thing? How as a player who pays money, that wants to get into the action faster, instead of standing in Dalaran all day looking for a group, say that this tool is bad. Some of us have lives, and want to kill stuff while I have time.

Acheivements? I hate them with a passion, but it does add something more to the game. I hear people go let’s try for this achievement. After doing a dungeon a hundred times it is something different.

Gearscore? That’s not entirely Blizzards fault. An MMO is a dynamic creature because of the people involved. If you want to blame someone blame the people. Gearscore will not last though with the changes in Cataclysm I think it will break the hold of GS.

Arenas? Weak PvP?  Yea both something I’m not too happy about, but I still get a thrill killing a Warlock. So how bad can it be?  No one has to PvP, or do Arena.

Daily Quests? Well anyway to get more gold in game is good, or otherwise I would have to call a little chinese man to deliver gold to me.

Listen WoW is many things, I think Tobold had it right with his analogy to WoW being like McDonald’s. Sure it’s not the best, or the most different, but you know what sometimes I feel like a Big Mac.

Warhammer Online –

Community – This game is like my Greasy Spoon Restaurant, a local diner I like to sit in and order some soup, and chat with the boys, and girls at the counter. I don’t eat dinner at the same place every night, so neither could I draw from my gaming well at the same place.  I think this MMO is different but alot of things are the same. The community is more tight-knit in this MMO, but also it doesn’t leave much room for outsiders. We have all been through the fires, and it feels when a newcomer does come up through the ranks, they have to prove more to those that have stood the test of time.  On the other hand standing next to people you know have stood with you before, against a common enemy..is just pure awesome.

Mythic – Some things not very innovative, at the same time alot of things they did bring to the table, like Scenarios the LFG tool of WAR, Titles/Tome are like Achievements. These are things WoW stole from WAR.  For all it’s faults Mythic is one of the better companies in regards of opening lines of communications up with the customers, and trying to give them what they need. Mythic is a company that has it’s customers best interest in heart, and is still trying.

PvP – WAR does it more right then anyone. I could feel the Hate seething from me when I play. 

WAR like the greasy spoon doesn’t do everything perfect, but what it does it does right, and that’s why I keep coming back for more.  

I can go down the list of the other MMO’s why I think they failed, but wouldn’t that be subjective. Alot of people are having fun playing AoC,  and STO once more. I won’t begrudge them that. Alot of people are having fun playing Call of Duty too. Let’s put it this way, there may be movies or books you like, that I may not like. Does that make the book or movie suck, yes…for me it does. It sucks for me. Why bitch? why moan?  just don’t play and sure you can make your beef, but don’t hate. Cause as a pimp, you learn..”You can hate the playa, but don’t hate the game” 

Fo’ sheezy!

3 Responses to “Hate the Playa!”

  1. Nymesis Says:

    Alright Riv, you win. I’m gonna reinstall War and give it another try. I need a good break from WoW for a bit.

  2. Good post!
    I see far too many people giving out the same old hate to WoW even though they dont even play it.

    As for WAR I think its got the basis of a good game there but it was poorly managed at the start and is paying the price unfortunately.

  3. Hmmm….I have a sudden need to watch “Beetlejuice”.

Leave a comment