Am I a Journalist?

I never considered myself a journalist, or a source of information. I consider myself just another guy sharing my thoughts and ideas with the world in general. I looked at other bloggers that do interviews with a slight envy, cause I don’t think I could do that. Then I thought why not. Why couldn’t I try it?

There’s an Anime Convention coming up. I figured I would go, and not only go, but get a press pass. I thought I would try my hand at being actual journalist, to get up and close with people, and ask them questions. Β My goal is to get an interview with Steve Downes the voice of Master Chief, Samurai Dan, a samurai master, August Hahn a Role Player and writer, but my main goal is to get in the nuts and bolts of Virtual Battletech, one of the loves of my life.Β 

Ever since I stepped into a pod, and was immersed into the world of Battletech I knew this is video gaming to a new level.Β  I could envision a world of the future where we might have pods in our living room, that could simulate more than just Battletech. Switch something out, and it’s a jet fighter, switch it out again it’s a boat, or a submarine.

But I’m nervous too, It takes balls to get into someones face and ask them questions, and what questions do I ask. What questions will make an interesting read. As this is an Anime Convention, though I do enjoy anime, I am in no way a hardcore fan. I will be a fish out of water.

In the end I hope I will come away with some cool interviews, and some even cooler pictures for you my readers.

4 Responses to “Am I a Journalist?”

  1. You’re a journalist if you either report on something factually or go and stick some questions in some guy’s face. The press pass is just validation. πŸ˜›

    That said, I most definitely am NOT a journalist. That way I don’t have to hold myself accountable for my completely subjective and often ranty OPINIONS. πŸ˜‰

  2. Caladwen Says:

    I didn’t know about the convention! I love anime so maybe I’ll go, I might even recognize you if you are waving your press pass around. πŸ™‚

  3. Just FYI, I have been a full-time paid journalist for 10 years for various newspapers across the country. A few tips on asking questions.

    1. Do your research first. Find out the answers to questions you have now. Be sure to ask some of the questions you think have already been asked because it’s possible someone else got them wrong before. If you know your stuff, and demonstrate you know your stuff, the source is more likely to give you better answers to your unanswered questions.

    2. Do not ask yes/no questions. If you ask yes/no questions the source has a chance to answer only yes or no. This is called a “closed question.” Instead, ask an “open-ended question” which allows them to expand upon an idea. Open-ended questions are also less threatening for the source because they appear non judgmental.

    3. Use a tape recorder. Tell them you are using a tape recorder and it’s because you know they are excited about xyz project and you are afraid you won’t be able to keep up with the responses. If the source says something that you want to quote later, look at the readout of the recorder (ie 1 minute 27 seconds) and write that in your notebook so you can go back to that timestamp later.

    Good luck and have fun!

  4. I went to GenCon one year as a “journalist” because I was an admin at SWG Stratics. I got some interesting points from SOE developers that year, and it was a hoot. You’ll be fine. Just keep your eyes open and make sure you keep having fun with it. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

