For The Swarm- Starcraft 2 Beta Key Giveaway

Starcraft is one of those games that will forever hold a place in my heart. Back when I was going to college, and working at the college many hours were spent with my fellow students/coworkers. We would have our favorite races, mine was always the Zerg. Gross, horrific, Single Minded, and Destructive. I remember are battles would wage until the early morning hours then we would hit the local breakfast joint for some hazelnut coffee, and to discuss the night’s war.

Starcraft 2 will be out soon, and I laid down the money to preorder, yes the collectors edition. I know I’ll get burned. 100 dollars is a hefty price tag. Anywho the local establishment that rhymes with Ramdrop screwed up. They gave me 2 beta keys. My gain is your gain, for I’m going to give away the key to you, my reader.

But you have to work for it. Answer my riddles, and you will get the key. Let me tell you the kingdom looks pretty sweet thus far. Since it is my year anniversary I thought I would ask some questions to you people.   The Rules: For some questions, there are no right or wrong answers, I’m looking for intelligent, well thought of responses, for other questions there are right answers you need to get. I am the sole judge of this contest, and like Judge Dredd…I am the law.  If there is a tie, I’ll just use a RNG, and girls pics of your boobs will not give you any extra consideration…but I will still enjoy them 🙂 Friday night I will contact the winner, and email them the key. Good luck.

Here’s my questions.

1. What do you like about my blog?

2. What do you dislike, or would like to see me change?

3. What is your favorite color?

4. What is the airspeed velocity of a swallow?

5. What’s the word that has entered into gamer vocabulary that means overpowering one’s enemies with sheer numbers?

6. What would you like to see me do with this blog in the coming year…Games you want me to check out? More reviews? Contests? Hot Women Pics?

7. Who is Kerrigan?

8. Is a Mutalisk a air or ground unit?

9.  What race created the Protoss?

10.  What’s my real middle name?

36 Responses to “For The Swarm- Starcraft 2 Beta Key Giveaway”

  1. 1. I’d have to say the fact that you use whole and correct sentences. =)
    2. Perhaps some more SC2 :), that’s always good.
    3. blue
    4. What do you mean? An African or a European one?
    5. to ‘Zerg’
    6. If you really like the SC2 scene perhaps you could state your mind on a few high level games
    7. Sarah Kerrigan (or the Queen of Blades, Queen of the Zerg) was a former Terran Ghost until she was kidnapped by the Overmind and corrupted, ending up as the twisted, evil creature she is now. (yes i actually wrote all this myself)
    8. An air unit
    9. The Xel’ Naga
    10. I honestly don’t know but I really like ‘River’

  2. 1. I was initially drawn to your blog by the humorous commentary about the Mythic billing fiasco. The more I read some of your past posts the more I realize you have a true sense of humor 🙂

    2. I would actually like to see a tag cloud somewhere on the front page. I see you have categories up already but a tag cloud would help me (and other) navigate the other content in your site. Also separation by game would be neat. For instance, I am not ever going back to Warcraft but I love Warhammer and Starcraft.

    3. Yellow… no, blue… Ahhhhhh!

    4. Is it an African or a European swallow?

    5. Zerg

    6. Reviews as you can, but mostly stay consistent. Your content is great.

    7. Kerrigan used to be a human, but now she’s a Zerg leader of sorts after she was infested by the zerg and controlled by the hive mind.

    8. Mutalisks are air units

    9. Xel’naga

    10. Hum. Not sure but River reminds me of the Firefly series and I love that series :p

    ** I edited this and combined the two posts. Better this way. 😉

  3. 1. What do you like about my blog?
    You speak your mind however demented that might be. ;).

    2. What do you dislike, or would like to see me change?
    Not sure. It has been amusing so far although I am a fairly new reader.

    3. What is your favorite color?
    Purple

    4. What is the airspeed velocity of a swallow?
    What do you mean, African or European Swallow? (Tiz but a flesh wound!)

    5. What’s the word that has entered into gamer vocabulary that means overpowering one’s enemies with sheer numbers?
    Zerg

    6. What would you like to see me do with this blog in the coming year…Games you want me to check out? More reviews? Contests? Hot Women Pics?
    Be yourself

    7. Who is Kerrigan?
    The Queen of Blades.

    8. Is a Mutalisk a air or ground unit?
    Air

    9. What race created the Protoss?
    Xel’naga. However did they create the Protoss or just genetically engineer a world
    where they formed through natural selection process. The Xel’Naga then came back and
    modified them. So is that considered creating them or just creating the environment
    where they naturally formed?

    10. What’s my real middle name?
    River? How the fuck am I supposed to know?

  4. 1. What do you like about my blog?
    -The fact that it’s a blog about games, of course. And second because, unlike other blogs i’ve read, you really give your view on things, but in a well thought-through kinda way

    2. What do you dislike, or would like to see me change?
    -Though I haven’t read all that much yet, the only thing I’d like to see is even more content, because so far i think you’re doing a great job

    3. What is your favorite color?
    -Blue, no.. YELLOOOOOOOOWWWWW….

    4. What is the airspeed velocity of a swallow?
    -What do you mean? An African or a European swallow?

    5. What’s the word that has entered into gamer vocabulary that means overpowering one’s enemies with sheer numbers?
    -To Zerg as in a verb

    6. What would you like to see me do with this blog in the coming year…Games you want me to check out? More reviews? Contests? Hot Women Pics?
    -Hot Women pics is never a bad thing 🙂 but I’d also love to see you post some more content on SC2 and perhaps give your own opinion on units,abilities,players,… (for example : I’d love to see you review the zerg units in SC2, no doubt that will be funny)

    7. Who is Kerrigan?
    -Kerrigan used to be a ghost for the terrans but because of her insane psychic powers, the Overmind captured her and put her in this Chrysalis cocoon thingy (God, those were the days) which eventually turned her into the Queen of Blades and the Queen of the Zerg

    8. Is a Mutalisk a air or ground unit?
    -An air unit, (Jaedong Mutamicro rocks)

    9. What race created the Protoss?
    -The Xel’ Naga when they sought to create a creature that possed purity of form

    10. What’s my real middle name?
    -No idea but River sounds really cool cuz it kinda merges your first and last name =)

  5. 1. What do you like about my blog?

    I just like your sense of humor, and that your friends with Scarybooster.

    2. What do you dislike, or would like to see me change?

    When I visit your page from my blogroll on a certain topic there is no navigation on the site. No sidebars, or anything so it may be hard for new people to see what else you write about, your profile, or whatever.

    Also I would agree that MMORPG is a pretty general label you use. I try to only use that label when it is some random game I may talk about otherwise I have an aion, warcraft, warhammer, etc labels for people to easily navigate to other posts I have written about their game of choice.

    3. What is your favorite color?

    Blue

    4. What is the airspeed velocity of a swallow?

    It depends if she spits.

    5. What’s the word that has entered into gamer vocabulary that means overpowering one’s enemies with sheer numbers?

    Zerg

    6. What would you like to see me do with this blog in the coming year…Games you want me to check out? More reviews? Contests? Hot Women Pics?

    Whatever you feel like. I think the podcast you and scary talked about would be great entertainment.

    7. Who is Kerrigan?

    Are we talking about Nancy the PRO ice skater that got clubbed in the knee from Tonya Harding

    8. Is a Mutalisk a air or ground unit?

    Ground

    9. What race created the Protoss?

    No idea.

    10. What’s my real middle name?

    Michael

  6. 1. Boobs
    2. More boobs
    3. Blue…no *ahhhhh!
    4. African or European?
    5. Zerg
    6. Boobs
    7. An irritating female figure skater
    8. Air
    9. Xel’Naga
    10. Penelope

  7. I already have a beta key so i’m not going to answer your questions. I love the blog. You shouldn’t change a thing. Maybe, do a podcast with some other GREAT blogger after he gets his head out of his ass and figures out how to do it.

    • theerivs Says:

      I am equally as to blamed, it’s just so much is going on right now (work is picking up, parantal situations, new awesome games like SC2) it’s hard to wrap my head around doing something new.

  8. Aku Sonninen Says:

    1. What do you like about my blog?
    I enjoy reading blogs about games that I enjoy playin.

    2. What do you dislike, or would like to see me change?
    Can’t think of any particular thing to improve, just continue the personal take on gaming

    3. What is your favorite color?
    Blue

    4. What is the airspeed velocity of a swallow?
    African or European

    5. What’s the word that has entered into gamer vocabulary that means overpowering one’s enemies with sheer numbers?
    To zerg someone

    6. What would you like to see me do with this blog in the coming year…Games you want me to check out? More reviews? Contests? Hot Women Pics?

    7. Who is Kerrigan?
    The messed up chick with the zerg.

    8. Is a Mutalisk a air or ground unit?
    Air

    9. What race created the Protoss?
    Xel’Naga
    10. What’s my real middle name?
    Lindsay

  9. 1. What do you like about my blog?
    Nothing. I hate it.

    2. What do you dislike, or would like to see me change?
    I like the just the way you are. Don’t ever change. xoxo

    3. What is your favorite color?
    Blue

    4. What is the airspeed velocity of a swallow?
    European Swallows fly at 25 miles/hour. I don’t have the wingspan, flap frequency, and amplitude data for African species.

    5. What’s the word that has entered into gamer vocabulary that means overpowering one’s enemies with sheer numbers?
    Zerg

    6. What would you like to see me do with this blog in the coming year…Games you want me to check out? More reviews? Contests? Hot Women Pics?
    How Women Pics

    7. Who is Kerrigan?
    Kerrigan, Nancy. She is an American figure skater who was attacked by Tonya Harding’s husband just before the 1994 US Championship.

    8. Is a Mutalisk a air or ground unit?
    Air

    9. What race created the Protoss?
    I don’t know

    10. What’s my real middle name?
    Lauren

  10. iOverflow Says:

    1. To be honest, I like the picture at the top the one with the wizard looking guy on a fire horse
    2. Would like you to add more pictures , and maybe add headings?
    3. Orange
    4. The true answer to that is, what do you want me to say?, as it could be the 2 answers that everyone else has seemingly explained already, or it could be something else.
    5. The Swarm
    6. Perhaps become involved in the game, and try to see it from an experienced players point of view that would surely draw in people that play the game actively and thus they can relate to this.
    Although continue adding your own experiences, it keeps the blog interesting.
    7. Sarah Kerrigan, Queen of blades, Queen of the zerg (assuming that this is related to Starcraft 2?)
    8. Air unit
    9. The Xel’ Naga
    10. River ?

  11. I’m a douchebag, who doesn’t have an original thought in their head.

    Edited because I’m a dick, and don’t like people being assholes.

  12. 1. Well, your sense of humor is always nice. Makes your posts fun to read
    2. Well i don’t think there something wrong in particular. Maybe we could see more of starcraft 😀
    3. blue
    4. approximately 30 miles/hour
    5. to zerg them
    6. Get a little more invovled with SC2 without giving importance to other cool games
    7. She was a ghost working for Arcturus Mengsk (leader of the Sons of korhal) but got caught by the zerg and turned into a new creature, the queen of blades who would eventually rule all zerg
    8. An air unit
    9. The Xel’ Naga
    10. Peter?? Steve?? Raynor?? lol no idea

  13. Howard Chiang Says:

    1. What do you like about my blog?
    Posts like these separate you from the average gamer, and it’s actually more important for you than for us. I like the fact that, through your blog, you have actually become a more intelligent gamer, learning more about yourself and how you feel about games.

    2. What do you dislike, or would like to see me change?
    Only seeing one post per page is sort of annoying.

    3. What is your favorite color?
    Since black isn’t technically a color, I’d have to go with red 🙂

    4. What is the airspeed velocity of a swallow?
    Who cares? It’s slower than a mutalisk.

    5. What’s the word that has entered into gamer vocabulary that means overpowering one’s enemies with sheer numbers?
    “Zerg”

    6. What would you like to see me do with this blog in the coming year…Games you want me to check out? More reviews? Contests? Hot Women Pics?
    As far as games go, I’m really interested in Alpha Protocol. Overall, I’d love it if you could posts some more reviews that truly represent who you are. There are way too many “this game has good graphics” or “this game takes 25 hours to beat” reviews. Stick with what the game means for you, even if it means not fully covering every aspect of the game. Those are the reviews that truly matter.

    7. Who is Kerrigan?
    Queen of Blades I guess 🙂

    8. Is a Mutalisk a air or ground unit?
    Air. This isn’t a trick question is it?

    9. What race created the Protoss?
    The Xel’Naga

    10. What’s my real middle name?
    “Sometimes River is the only thing people know [you] as. Which is ok with [you],” so don’t mark me down for this one 🙂

    • Howard Chiang Says:

      Oh dear O_O

      Are you telling me that I’ve been doing it wrong the whole time?!

      Jeez, and I thought “show my windows from last time” would save me time by keeping your blog open…

      As a new no.2, I think you should…..add more “HOT WOMEN PICS” 😀
      It brings a nice variety, doesn’t it?

  14. 1. You casual friendly approach and mixing of real life and gamers life.

    2. The design needs some improvements maybe less black

    3. Red and blue

    4. Ah, you got me 😛

    5. “Zerg” since stacraft™

    6. Maybe more starcraft but it will be hard to keep up with the other sites

    7. The Zerg queen

    8. Its aN air unit 😛

    9. Xel’Naga

    10. Rives I guess 😉

  15. 1. What do you like about my blog?

    I love your blog! I love your blog! I’d love your blog even if you did change to farmville. You went to WAR and you are AWESOME. I’ll have your e-babies.

    Ok, aside from that, it’s funny, and no bullshit. I snarfled for a long time over the “are you a girl” quiz.

    2. What do you dislike, or would like to see me change?

    I hate the theme. Orange sucks. Also – sometimes you pick a picture of a hot chick but it really has nothing to do with the post. Maybe if you captioned them in a funny manner?

    3. What is your favorite color?

    NOT ORANGE.

    4. What is the airspeed velocity of a swallow?

    African or European? I mean, I suppose they COULD share the coconut, like if they put it in a hammock between them.

    5. What’s the word that has entered into gamer vocabulary that means overpowering one’s enemies with sheer numbers?

    Zerg!! Also acceptable: WTFPWN

    6. What would you like to see me do with this blog in the coming year…Games you want me to check out? More reviews? Contests? Hot Women Pics?

    More GUIDES. I think it would be interesting if you told us how you WTFPWN people’s faces.

    7. Who is Kerrigan?

    OMG, I effin hate her. Seriously. So I killed all the freakin zerg. All of them. Every last one. I WTFPWNED that campaign over and over, and then they still come out of nowhere and overwhelm her? I call SHENANIGANS. Then she’s all “look at me, I’m zerg and invisible, I’m SPECIAL.” DIAF Kerrigan.

    8. Is a Mutalisk a air or ground unit?

    I thought it was a ground unit but everyone else thinks it’s an air unit. Who cares? They all sound like they’re puking up lava when you click on them.

    9. What race created the Protoss?

    Ur mom. Seriously, I could google this, or cheat off someone else, but whatever.

    10. What’s my real middle name?

    “Danger is my middle name.” Duh.

    To close, I don’t actually have time for playing a beta, what with the kiddo and all, but I thought the quiz would be fun.

  16. 1. Your frank honest opinions
    2. That gross text in your banner. I volunteer my photoshop services free (seriously DM me)
    3. Green
    4. African or European swallow?
    5. Zerg
    6. 1 word: animated sparkle unicorn gifs!
    7. Sarah Louise Kerrigan, the Queen of Blades! Originally a terran psychic, she was captured and infested turning her into a human/zerg hybrid. Gains control over the Overmind and becomes leader of the zerg.
    8. Air
    9. The Xel’ Naga
    10. Topher?

  17. 1. What do you like about my blog?
    Your dedication to it.

    2. What do you dislike, or would like to see me change? I love the blogs that have the blog rolls that show the latest articles by other bloggers. I want to set that up as well.

    3. What is your favorite color?
    Green
    4. What is the airspeed velocity of a swallow?
    African or European?

    5. What’s the word that has entered into gamer vocabulary that means overpowering one’s enemies with sheer numbers?
    zerg 😛

    6. What would you like to see me do with this blog in the coming year…Games you want me to check out? More reviews? Contests? Hot Women Pics?
    I love reviews, I havent done as many on mine as I would like, but it is part of why I started it up.

    7. Who is Kerrigan?
    Queen of the Blades

    8. Is a Mutalisk a air or ground unit?
    Air

    9. What race created the Protoss?
    Xel’Naga

    10. What’s my real middle name?
    “River”?

  18. shadowwar Says:

    1. Half-naked women. Only reason I show up really.

    2. Not enough transvestite photos.

    3. Blue.

    4. African or European? Oh noooooooooooo………

    5. ZZZZEEEEEEEEEERRRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGG (I still like the Protoss zealot rush better, fwiw)

    6. More hot women pictures, obviously.

    7. Kerrigan is the former Ghost operative of the Terrans. Due to a terrible twist of fate, she has become the Queen of Blades, the hive-mind mother of the Zerg. Her intimate knowledge of the terrans and her innate psychic ability all Ghosts have has led to her dominance on the battlefield. Currently (between SC1 and 2) she has the hive held back, laying in wait, evolving and learning, ready to pounce at the most oportune time.

    8. Air, it can transform into one of two different forms, either an Air to Air unit or an Air to Ground unit. Both of them are strong in ability to tear through their intended targets but lack both the ricochete of the Muta fleet, as well as their mutability (seewhatididthere?) in target selection.

    9. Xel’naga. Xel’naga girls are easy, but sluts like that tend to give birth to bad seeds as well as good.

    10. David

    • shadowwar Says:

      Haha! Misread question 10. Thought you asked for MY real middle name.

      *innocent whistle*

      10. River

      Move along, nothing to see here.

  19. 1. Half naked women sounds good 🙂 Actually sometimes you piss people off and I love seeing people getting their feathers all ruffled.

    2. I really don’t care. I wouldn’t go writing a blog about cream corn though…definitely a way to lose me.

    3. Black

    4. Twenty-four mph apparently. There seems to be no difference between African or European. (the best thing about that movie was the credits: A moose once bit my sister. :P)

    5. Zerg (and I was going to put faceroll until I read the answers…I should have know though…I’ve been in more than one zerg on Sarth)

    6. Hot Women Pics are always good. Can’t go wrong there. Even if you do run out of material to write about. I could say piss more people off but that really does get old after a short while.

    7. Honestly the first thing that came to mind was that stupid Ice Skater incedent. Apparently it is also the name of the snakey hair chick in some of the Starcraft pics. I do love that artwork.

    8. Unless all the people before me are wrong it is an air unit.

    9. Xel’naga? Again with the copying. TBH I’ve never played the game. Real time strats eat me for breakfast. I’m answering this in the thin hopes that I can win that key for my husband who is an AVID Starcraft fanatic. He’d probably cream himself if I handed him that key.

    10. I don’t think you have one. Your email addy only has 2 letters. Just saying. I’d say River since its in the middle of your first and last name but you didn’t ask for your nickname…so…

  20. […] A High Latency Life A blog about the Nerdy stuff in life. « For The Swarm- Starcraft 2 Beta Key Giveaway […]

  21. 1. I like the combination of thought-provoking posts and hot chicks. Very rare to get both from the same source. Also great links.

    2. You can tend to get off on a tangent sometimes

    3. Green

    4. African or European?

    5. Zerg

    6. Maybe an occasional in-depth post about strategy or tactics

    7. Sarah Kerrigan – Terran ghost betrayed to the Zerg by Arcturus Mensk – Resurrected as the Queen of Blades

    8. Air

    9. Xel’naga

    10, Toss up between Matthew or Michael

  22. Icarli answers look kind of familiar… hmm…

  23. 1. You’re Awesome

    2. You’re Awesomeness tends to blind me

    3. Red, cuz it’s awesome and reminds me of you

    4. Approximatively the speed of awesome, just like this blog

    5. Zergs still aren’t as awesome as you

    6. Share your awesomeness with your acolytes

    7. an awesome guy, just not as awesome as you

    8. an awesome air unit, again though not as awesome as you

    9. the AWESOME race, though; yet again, not as awesome as you

    10. Awesometastic…..at least in my mind

    Enjoy my comment, I don’t make them this awesome very often

  24. John Hsu Says:

    1. What do you like about my blog?
    Your dedication, and the effort that you put into it. I feel like a lot of people have blogs, even the more “professional” ones, which are just day to day rants. You make the blog more enjoyable for the rest of us by putting your personality into each and every post. We aren’t here to read about gaming news; we are here to read about you.

    2. What do you dislike, or would like to see me change?
    A new layout 🙂 I would make the writing column wider, so that there isn’t so much scrolling. Perhaps you could make it so that multiple posts could appear on one page? I think that would make accessing the blog easier. Perhaps you like the orange, but it’s kind of irritable for my eyes. Overall, I think you could make the blog more…open? I’m not quite sure that’s the right term, but hey, there you go. 🙂

    3. What is your favorite color?
    My favorite color is red. I always win when I end up playing as red zerg. Seeing the red on my units, I go into a bloodlust and automatically dominate all of my opponents. When my buildings start bleeding, I laugh and attack them myself, just to prove to my opponent that I am not afraid of him. The smart ones disconnect, scared. The foolish ones think me an idiot – until I destroy them with my hydralisk army of DEATH.

    4. What is the airspeed velocity of a swallow?
    I believe it is an “unladen” swallow. In any case, I don’t know “what do you mean. African or European swallow?”

    5. What’s the word that has entered into gamer vocabulary that means overpowering one’s enemies with sheer numbers?
    Zerg

    6. What would you like to see me do with this blog in the coming year…Games you want me to check out? More reviews? Contests? Hot Women Pics?
    I would like to see some compare/contrast articles, if that makes sense. Personally, those are always my favorite. Compare your favorite games, compare your favorite games to the ones you hate, compare similar games, compare games that are great and the ones that are just wannabes. This really brings out the different qualities of the games, especially small details that sometimes get missed. This is especially true when the games you compare are very similar.

    7. Who is Kerrigan?
    The Queen of Blades.

    8. Is a Mutalisk a air or ground unit?
    Air.

    9. What race created the Protoss?
    Xel’naga

    10. What’s my real middle name?
    ZergMaster? I don’t know. You will always be River to me.

  25. General Anubis Says:

    1. I love the layout of your blog, the awesome content you post here, and that little smiley face at the bottom :D. Most of all – I love this chance at a StarCraft II Beta Key 😛

    2. Like I said, I like the layout – BUT, I think the margins could be shrunken a bit… I don’t like how horizontally squashed the text is.

    3. Blue (said with confidence).

    4. Is this an unladen swallow? If so, African or European?
    Oh, and before you ask, my quest is: I seek the holy BETA KEY.

    5. Ahh… “Zerg”ing someone. A worthy nomenclature.

    6. I’m all about some contests, but games and hot women are nice. (I’m married, so you better go with contest/games… my wife might not like the third choice!)

    7. Sarah Kerrigan – Used to be a Terran Ghost until she was captured by the Zerg and infused with Zerg DNA. Since all ghosts have some psionic ability, these abilities were strengthened and ultimately allowed her to break free of the Overmind’s control, eventually supplanting him as the ruler of the Zerg. She is now known as “the Queen of Blades”

    8. Air unit – still not sure how they stay afloat while mutating though xD

    9. The Xel’Naga – Same race that created the Zerg, ultimately.

    10. Awesome (or Danger)

  26. Christopher Erikson Says:

    1. What do you like about my blog?
    I like the fact that your blog posts are detailed and organized. I guess organized is key here; forget about paragraphs, most blogs these days can’t even produce grammatically correct sentences. I really like how you develop your thoughts, instead of just rambling on and going off topic. Or maybe you do ramble, but you are just very good at it. In any case, good job with presenting your ideas clearly, allowing us to follow your thought and make our own judgments too.

    2. What do you dislike, or would like to see me change?
    I would like to see glasnost, or, if you’d like it in Russian, Гла́сность. Sure, compared to most blogs, you are great at illustrating your own views and opinions about different games instead of just throwing us the usual dung other blogs do. But don’t fail the way Gorbachev did after the Chernobyl incident. I want to read it all. I want to feel it all. Give me those nasty thoughts you think about games. If you hate a game, tell it straight out and stab it to death; give it a public execution. There is no censorship here, and I’d like to see the bloody realities of your thoughts. For the games you love, don’t hesitate to show your affection. There are no restrictions for what you can love, even if the games have no life. Tell me what you truly feel even more than you already do. Open up to me. Come to Papa Bear; Come to Отец.

    3. What is your favorite color?
    Olive green is my favorite color because it is proven to have good balance. In the sense that red seems to invigorate, blues seem to relax, and orange seems to irritate, olive green is tested to be the perfect mix between calm relaxation and disciplined determination and persevering.

    A Harvard University experiment shows that people who are surrounded by olive green tend to be more successful, and won’t panic under stress, able to think clearly. It is partly the reason why certain military drabs are olive green, although they did not know it at the time of picking the color. It wasn’t the camouflage, but the added mental bonus that allowed soldiers to function better. Tile art from ancient Jerusalem shows that the people back then had some sort of awareness for the powers of olive green. Here is an example: http://www.armenianceramics.com/images/Product%20Images/Murals/Olive_Tree_Tile_mural_with_B2_lightblue.jpg

    Personally, I had started eating olives every day, starting from two months back. It was a disappointment then, that I found out olives weren’t actually olive green. Just by being off one little bit reduced the effects of the color drastically. In Hex Triplet, the green of olives is #808000, whereas the desirable color is #6B8E23. It seems like the people of Ancient Jerusalem recognized the color of the leaves of the olive tree, which were indeed #6B8E23, and not the actual olives themselves. I am currently looking into the purchasing of an olive tree, and I recommend that you do the same. Surprisingly, full-grown trees are rather expensive. Given the benefits, however, there is no doubt that the cost is worth it.

    4. What is the airspeed velocity of a swallow?
    African or European? The average velocity, however, is 24 mph.

    5. What’s the word that has entered into gamer vocabulary that means overpowering one’s enemies with sheer numbers?
    Zerg, of course

    6. What would you like to see me do with this blog in the coming year…Games you want me to check out? More reviews? Contests? Hot Women Pics?
    I would like to see more contest. There’s nothing wrong with some healthy competition, assuming I win most of them, of course. Ones with prizes are nice (like this post), but I think it would bring everyone together more if there were more competitions. Whether it be in game, comments, flash games….all of it would help. The honor of having one’s name publicly displayed on your blog, and having everyone stare at the screens, thinking, “Oh man. He is king. He is Papa Bear.” should be good enough for anyone.

    7. Who is Kerrigan?
    She used to be a terran ghost, but was taken by the zerg. Then she became the Queen of Blades. I like her better now 🙂

    8. Is a Mutalisk a air or ground unit?
    Air.

    9. What race created the Protoss?
    The Xel’Naga.

    10. What’s my real middle name?
    Dreadnought. Well if I were to going to guess, I guess River would be a better one huh.

  27. Christopher Erikson Says:

    No problem mate, but take my olive green advice to heart!

  28. Benjamin C Says:

    1. One of the first things that came to mind when thinking about your Blog is that it’s easy to read. It’s not some 12-year old kid with broke grammar, but rather someone who uses proper sentences that flows like a river (see what I did there?). It also grabs my attention, and holds on to it. I sometimes read a lot of material without even realizing how much I’ve read.
    2. The one thing I’d suggest is group the comments into pages, if there are many, such as this post. It’s a pain to scroll all the way down to write this.
    3. Red. Represents passion.
    4. You know just as well as I do that I’ll just google it. 😀
    5. Zerg. verb. Meaning to defeat the opponent with sheer numbers.
    6. Well, everything a gamer wants. So, all of the above! However, I’d suggest making some gameplay videos with commentary, which seems pretty popular on Youtube (Husky and HDstarcraft).
    7. Originally a Terran Ghost, she was captured and infected by the Zerg. Now she’s the leader (or in a position of power) of the Zerg. She use to be good friends with Raynor (I still remember the conversations from the original Starcraft!)
    8. Mutas? Air unit. Fast, agile, beast at taking out enemy mineral lines (Ahh, the good ol’ days)
    9. The Xel’ Naga. Forgot the whole story, but it was something about creating a pure race.
    10. It’s probably not River because it’s in quotation marks. And most middle names a) do not rhyme with your first name and b) describes a different person, unlike your first name. So I’m guessing Maximilian.

    This was actually a lot of fun. Especially after realizing the contest is over.
    -highfive-

Leave a Reply

